My friend

This is the place to discuss any general CB radio related topics. Getting started, installations, operation etc.
NightProwler
Veteran
Veteran
Call Sign: 163TM186

My friend

Post by NightProwler »

OK it's rant time again :D Theres a few of us who chat locally on mid FM everyday, Normally about 5 or 6 of us but when the conditions are good we get the usual German and French stations calling in. Now myself I cant really be bothered because I have spoken to European stations a million times, I like getting into countries I have never worked before so I can tick them off my list. Anyway one chap on the channel goes into full ham mode when they come on but what bugs the crap out of me and I tend to count how many times he says 'my friend' in one over, I think the record is seven. It goes something like this...

CQ CQ CQ DX my friend, This 163...... my friend, You are 5 and 9 into Wales my friend. Working conditions this way my friend is an SS9900 and a gainmaster my friend. How am I making the trip to you my friend?

And it goes on and on. OK maybe im being a Victor Meldrew but it bugs the crap out of me so much I tend to switch off.

My friend my friend my friend {bnghd} :lol:

Sorry rant over :thumbup:
Shorter of breath and one day closer to death
Transwarp
Veteran
Veteran
Call Sign: Viper

Re: My friend

Post by Transwarp »

;)
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Champion of IBTL Christmas Edition 2023.
Champion of IBTL Autumn 2022 Edition.
NightProwler
Veteran
Veteran

Post by NightProwler »

I thought I was looking into a mirror for a moment....My friend.
Transwarp
Veteran
Veteran

Post by Transwarp »

I've had similar experiences with folk dx-ing.

They obviously don't know they're doing it obviously, but to those listening to them it's obvious they obviously don't know they have an obvious habit of repeating themselves or an expression, and to some it can be annoying - obviously :D