Scanning on a DM-1801

General scanning discussion forum. Talk about anything to do with scanners, equipment, VHF/UHF reception and the art of catching those illusive signals!
freddyokel
Regular
Regular

Scanning on a DM-1801

Post by freddyokel »

I've been scanning my local Shopwatch on my DM-1801 and I can't work out what I'm doing wrong.
It's in 'Monitor mode' and picks up the occasional conversation and shows the colour code and radio id of whoever's talking.
But... I'm only getting audio and id's about 20% of the time. The rest of the time I just get the green receive light.
I've tried picking up DMR on UK Simple Light (UK General as was) and this seems to work 100% of the time.

Anyone got any ideas? I'm probably being stupid as I'm really new to DMR.
deadite66
Regular
Regular
Call Sign: 26TM7373

Re: Scanning on a DM-1801

Post by deadite66 »

first thought was what's the signal strength like?

i'm using a rtlsdr blog dipole with mine.
SDRPlay RSP1A + CrossCountryWireless Loop
Icom IC7410 + thunderpole boomerang
Retevis RT90 (opengd77) + Diamond x50
Yupiteru MVT-9000MKII, Baofeng DM-1801 (with opengd77)
freddyokel
Regular
Regular

Post by freddyokel »

Both the overs I hear which the radio reports CC and G (ID) for and the ones I don't are full signal as far as I can see.
Once a conversation starts, I can hear all the participants talk until they're finished.
It's just that during down time, the green light will come on (and the signal meter rise to maximum) with nothing reported on the radio whilst at the same time on the same frequency, my UV-5R will blast out the normal digital noise you'd expect.
At the time I'm pretty much sitting at ground zero for the Shopwatch area.
jhampton2000

Post by jhampton2000 »

So just checking back if I have understood what you say is going on here:
1. Every time the DM-1801 displays a GID/UID, Green LED is on, and you hear voice traffic?
2. There are times when the green LED is on but no GID/UID or voice heard?