The worst UK FM rig ever?

The place to talk about specific radios, equipment and accessories. Do you prefer the latest generation of rigs and antennas or do you like the classics? Discuss it here!
Yeti
Veteran
Veteran

The worst UK FM rig ever?

Post by Yeti »

What would be your vote for the worst rig ever? Maybe more than one!

I used to work in a shop fixing CB rigs, and to be honest it gets to the stage that as soon as you take the lid off, you can tell from one look at the PCB if the rig's garbage.

Perhaps this list will serve to stop folk buying crap rigs - although to be fair, if you found your way to this site, you know enough to avoid them already.

So a quick list of my worst ones, and reasons if necessary:

Eurosonic/Tokai/Lake Manxman/Elftone/Cheiza - quite simply, the worst built, worst designed and worst performing rigs ever. Think we had about 20 of these lying around not working, I never successfully fixed one, and I wasn't long in throwing them all in the bin.

Interceptor TC3000 - had a few of these, the ones that worked did work well enough, and the lights were cool - but when i opened up the knackered one, it was obvious it wasn't really that good a rig!

Compact 40 - very early small rig, same size as the later Midland 77-099, but with a 'proper' S-meter - so small you'll never see it though. Awful performance and weird mike wiring.
crusty
Veteran
Veteran

Post by crusty »

Eurosonic ES-404. Utter crap, not even heavy enough to use as a doorstop!
Crusty.
Last edited by crusty on 20 Sep 2008, 22:15, edited 1 time in total.
Yeti
Veteran
Veteran

Post by Yeti »

Don't think I ever had the misfortune of working on one or using one - but the poor fitting buttons, sliding controls for volume/squelch and the awful PCB give it away there.

General 'old school' indication of a crap rig - the power lead's soldered straight into the PCB - no socket :P

They're all like that now, cos it's cheaper.