Antron 99 use washers or not?

The place to talk about specific radios, equipment and accessories. Do you prefer the latest generation of rigs and antennas or do you like the classics? Discuss it here!
Post Reply
Master Virus
Regular
Regular
Posts: 72
Joined: 21 Nov 2018, 17:15
Location: Halifax West Yorkshire

Antron 99 use washers or not?

Post by Master Virus »

Bought an Antron 99 to get me up and running and i was wondering if the washers were left out would it cause high swr or is this an old wives tale?
I'm also going to waterproof the antenna.

User avatar
Dave C
Regular
Regular
Posts: 29
Joined: 12 May 2020, 10:46
Call Sign: 27PL259
Location: Staffordshire
Contact:

Re: Antron 99 use washers or not?

Post by Dave C »

I'm also about to erect an Antron 99 and would like to hear the response on this one too... presumably by not fitting the washers the antenna is being shortened ever so slightly (4-6 mm).

TIA Dave
Life is like a box of chocolates.... Usually empty when I get there.... :crazy:

Rigs: Major M588 AM FM SSB (Std), President Grant II Premium (Std), Midland Alan 78 Plus (Std), Lowe TX 40 (Std).

Twigs: Antron 99 (Std), K40 Mag, Firestick 4', Cherokee Dial A Match 4', Sirio 5000 PL Mag.

User avatar
Stronty
Veteran
Veteran
Posts: 2686
Joined: 24 Sep 2007, 17:48
Location: Up North

Re: Antron 99 use washers or not?

Post by Stronty »

What is achieved by not installing the them?

User avatar
The Collector
Legend
Legend
Posts: 6339
Joined: 23 Jan 2010, 19:26
Location: Bristol-ish

Re: Antron 99 use washers or not?

Post by The Collector »

They're anti-vibration to stop thecsections coming loose. There was a topic not long ago that went into it quite a bit if you want to search for it.

User avatar
The Collector
Legend
Legend
Posts: 6339
Joined: 23 Jan 2010, 19:26
Location: Bristol-ish

Re: Antron 99 use washers or not?

Post by The Collector »

They're anti-vibration to stop the sections coming loose. There was a topic not long ago that went into it quite a bit if you want to search for it.

User avatar
NightProwler
Veteran
Veteran
Posts: 2913
Joined: 08 Feb 2012, 22:31
Call Sign: 163TM186
Location: South Wales

Re: Antron 99 use washers or not?

Post by NightProwler »

Theres an echo in here :D
Shorter of breath and one day closer to death

Crackle
Registered New User
Registered New User
Posts: 3
Joined: 19 May 2020, 15:59

Re: Antron 99 use washers or not?

Post by Crackle »

If they are anything like the Solacon Imax then the washers are rubbish steel that will rust and could cause issues later.

User avatar
The Collector
Legend
Legend
Posts: 6339
Joined: 23 Jan 2010, 19:26
Location: Bristol-ish

Re: Antron 99 use washers or not?

Post by The Collector »

Pardon....pardon...par

I pressed send on the first one, but before it "went" I amended a typo. It must've already gone through but not shown up as having gone as it was still on my phone's screen.

Post Reply