Sirio 827 Radials

This is the place to discuss any general CB radio related topics. Getting started, installations, operation etc.
User avatar
thundercat
Super Member
Super Member
Posts: 116
Joined: 04 Sep 2011, 16:39
Call Sign: Thundercat
Location: workington
Contact:

Sirio 827 Radials

Post by thundercat »

Hello All
Ive currently got a Sirio 827 installed but haven't bothered with the rather long Radials (reason being i would have to lift it a fare bit to clear the roof of my house) do i need to install them? what benefits would i get if i did?
What we're dealing with here is a complete lack of respect for the law.
SS3900 Black
Cobra 148 gtl-dx
RM KL203-P Burner
The Modulator Aerial Mobile
Sirio 827








10-10 and we are gone
26-TM-458, 26CT509.
User avatar
ch25
Top Poster
Top Poster
Posts: 1100
Joined: 03 Dec 2016, 11:07
Call Sign: Lemmy
Location: Poland

Re: Sirio 827 Radials

Post by ch25 »

Without radials this antenna won't work.
WE ARE MOTÖRHEAD, AND WE PLAY ROCK N' ROLL
You can't have too many antennas...
User avatar
thundercat
Super Member
Super Member
Posts: 116
Joined: 04 Sep 2011, 16:39
Call Sign: Thundercat
Location: workington
Contact:

Re: Sirio 827 Radials

Post by thundercat »

ch25 wrote: 07 Feb 2021, 19:51 Without radials this antenna won't work.
No worries I’ll pop them on then, thanks for your reply
What we're dealing with here is a complete lack of respect for the law.
SS3900 Black
Cobra 148 gtl-dx
RM KL203-P Burner
The Modulator Aerial Mobile
Sirio 827








10-10 and we are gone
26-TM-458, 26CT509.
User avatar
The Collector
Legend
Legend
Posts: 7161
Joined: 23 Jan 2010, 19:26
Location: Bristol-ish

Re: Sirio 827 Radials

Post by The Collector »

You could always just put the ones on that don't interfere with your roof tiles etc. You might just lose 2 or three at most then which shouldn't make that much of a difference. Otherwise, hoik the aerial up another couple of feet if you can ;)
User avatar
thundercat
Super Member
Super Member
Posts: 116
Joined: 04 Sep 2011, 16:39
Call Sign: Thundercat
Location: workington
Contact:

Re: Sirio 827 Radials

Post by thundercat »

The Collector wrote: 09 Feb 2021, 18:02 You could always just put the ones on that don't interfere with your roof tiles etc. You might just lose 2 or three at most then which shouldn't make that much of a difference. Otherwise, hoik the aerial up another couple of feet if you can ;)
Good shout, I’ll try that before lifting it
What we're dealing with here is a complete lack of respect for the law.
SS3900 Black
Cobra 148 gtl-dx
RM KL203-P Burner
The Modulator Aerial Mobile
Sirio 827








10-10 and we are gone
26-TM-458, 26CT509.
User avatar
stanogs68
Veteran
Veteran
Posts: 2507
Joined: 05 Mar 2013, 19:38
Location: warrington,north west

Re: Sirio 827 Radials

Post by stanogs68 »

Or remove a few roof tiles that are in the way ,just remember put them back if it rains :D
computers mess with my brain !
User avatar
thundercat
Super Member
Super Member
Posts: 116
Joined: 04 Sep 2011, 16:39
Call Sign: Thundercat
Location: workington
Contact:

Re: Sirio 827 Radials

Post by thundercat »

stanogs68 wrote: 09 Feb 2021, 19:40 Or remove a few roof tiles that are in the way ,just remember put them back if it rains :D
Living up norf I’d have to be quick 😂😂😂😂
What we're dealing with here is a complete lack of respect for the law.
SS3900 Black
Cobra 148 gtl-dx
RM KL203-P Burner
The Modulator Aerial Mobile
Sirio 827








10-10 and we are gone
26-TM-458, 26CT509.
User avatar
The Collector
Legend
Legend
Posts: 7161
Joined: 23 Jan 2010, 19:26
Location: Bristol-ish

Re: Sirio 827 Radials

Post by The Collector »

If leaving a few 'planes out does the job, just ensure that the empty holes don't lead into the coil or anything, or you'll have to seal them up with some stubby bolts or some silicone sealant ;)
User avatar
thundercat
Super Member
Super Member
Posts: 116
Joined: 04 Sep 2011, 16:39
Call Sign: Thundercat
Location: workington
Contact:

Re: Sirio 827 Radials

Post by thundercat »

The Collector wrote: 10 Feb 2021, 17:05 If leaving a few 'planes out does the job, just ensure that the empty holes don't lead into the coil or anything, or you'll have to seal them up with some stubby bolts or some silicone sealant ;)
I’ve got all but two fitted and looking at the extra height I need to fit the remaining two, I’ll get it with a 5ft pole and mast joiner
What we're dealing with here is a complete lack of respect for the law.
SS3900 Black
Cobra 148 gtl-dx
RM KL203-P Burner
The Modulator Aerial Mobile
Sirio 827








10-10 and we are gone
26-TM-458, 26CT509.
User avatar
bigpimp347
Legend
Legend
Posts: 8551
Joined: 08 Aug 2009, 10:23
Location: J26 Nottingham

Re: Sirio 827 Radials

Post by bigpimp347 »

the 827 will work perfectly fine without radials.
they are mostly there for show and to help radiate the signal across the ground
if you mount it at it's correct height, a 5/8th off ground so around 20ft it will use the ground as it's ground plane.
I want to Die Asleep like my Grandad did,
Unlike his Passengers, Screaming and Shouting.!
User avatar
stanogs68
Veteran
Veteran
Posts: 2507
Joined: 05 Mar 2013, 19:38
Location: warrington,north west

Re: Sirio 827 Radials

Post by stanogs68 »

thought they was for ssb
computers mess with my brain !
User avatar
thundercat
Super Member
Super Member
Posts: 116
Joined: 04 Sep 2011, 16:39
Call Sign: Thundercat
Location: workington
Contact:

Re: Sirio 827 Radials

Post by thundercat »

bigpimp347 wrote: 14 Feb 2021, 19:56 the 827 will work perfectly fine without radials.
they are mostly there for show and to help radiate the signal across the ground
if you mount it at it's correct height, a 5/8th off ground so around 20ft it will use the ground as it's ground plane.
Is that 20ft to the tip of the aerial?
What we're dealing with here is a complete lack of respect for the law.
SS3900 Black
Cobra 148 gtl-dx
RM KL203-P Burner
The Modulator Aerial Mobile
Sirio 827








10-10 and we are gone
26-TM-458, 26CT509.
User avatar
ch25
Top Poster
Top Poster
Posts: 1100
Joined: 03 Dec 2016, 11:07
Call Sign: Lemmy
Location: Poland

Re: Sirio 827 Radials

Post by ch25 »

bigpimp347 wrote: 14 Feb 2021, 19:56 the 827 will work perfectly fine without radials.
they are mostly there for show and to help radiate the signal across the ground
if you mount it at it's correct height, a 5/8th off ground so around 20ft it will use the ground as it's ground plane.
You have no idea what you are talking about.
WE ARE MOTÖRHEAD, AND WE PLAY ROCK N' ROLL
You can't have too many antennas...
User avatar
bigpimp347
Legend
Legend
Posts: 8551
Joined: 08 Aug 2009, 10:23
Location: J26 Nottingham

Re: Sirio 827 Radials

Post by bigpimp347 »

ch25 wrote: 14 Feb 2021, 21:15
bigpimp347 wrote: 14 Feb 2021, 19:56 the 827 will work perfectly fine without radials.
they are mostly there for show and to help radiate the signal across the ground
if you mount it at it's correct height, a 5/8th off ground so around 20ft it will use the ground as it's ground plane.
You have no idea what you are talking about.


nope of course not..
i've got two 827's (and thirty or more other base antennas) i build my own antennas.
maybe try it and see..
get an 827 remove the useless there for show radials and see what happens..
it still works.. what do you think the coil is for ? , it's matching system as you described in the 'silver rod' post.
the radials, like on a lot of Sirio antennas pretty much do bugger all..
I want to Die Asleep like my Grandad did,
Unlike his Passengers, Screaming and Shouting.!
User avatar
bigpimp347
Legend
Legend
Posts: 8551
Joined: 08 Aug 2009, 10:23
Location: J26 Nottingham

Re: Sirio 827 Radials

Post by bigpimp347 »

thundercat wrote: 14 Feb 2021, 20:58
bigpimp347 wrote: 14 Feb 2021, 19:56 the 827 will work perfectly fine without radials.
they are mostly there for show and to help radiate the signal across the ground
if you mount it at it's correct height, a 5/8th off ground so around 20ft it will use the ground as it's ground plane.
Is that 20ft to the tip of the aerial?

no to the base..
the idea is use an antenna (without radials) a wavelength it is off ground,
so if it's a half wave, then 17ft, a 5/8th then around 20ft.

Cushcraft used the idea years ago on various VHF antennas where line of sight is more important
they just made the antennas ground a matched wavelength below it.
I want to Die Asleep like my Grandad did,
Unlike his Passengers, Screaming and Shouting.!
Post Reply