Antron 99 use washers or not?

The place to talk about specific radios, equipment and accessories. Do you prefer the latest generation of rigs and antennas or do you like the classics? Discuss it here!
Post Reply
Master Virus
Regular
Regular
Posts: 72
Joined: 21 Nov 2018, 17:15
Location: Halifax West Yorkshire

Antron 99 use washers or not?

Post by Master Virus »

Bought an Antron 99 to get me up and running and i was wondering if the washers were left out would it cause high swr or is this an old wives tale?
I'm also going to waterproof the antenna.

User avatar
Dave C
Regular
Regular
Posts: 39
Joined: 12 May 2020, 10:46
Call Sign: 27PL259
Location: Staffordshire
Contact:

Re: Antron 99 use washers or not?

Post by Dave C »

I'm also about to erect an Antron 99 and would like to hear the response on this one too... presumably by not fitting the washers the antenna is being shortened ever so slightly (4-6 mm).

TIA Dave
Life is like a box of chocolates.... Usually empty when I get there.... :crazy:

Rigs: Major M588 AM FM SSB (Std), President Grant II Premium (Std), Midland Alan 78 Plus (Std), Lowe TX 40 (Std).

Twigs: Antron 99 (Std), K40 Mag, Firestick 4', Cherokee Dial A Match 4', Sirio 1000 PL Mag.

User avatar
Stronty
Veteran
Veteran
Posts: 2709
Joined: 24 Sep 2007, 17:48
Location: Up North

Re: Antron 99 use washers or not?

Post by Stronty »

What is achieved by not installing the them?

User avatar
The Collector
Legend
Legend
Posts: 6605
Joined: 23 Jan 2010, 19:26
Location: Bristol-ish

Re: Antron 99 use washers or not?

Post by The Collector »

They're anti-vibration to stop thecsections coming loose. There was a topic not long ago that went into it quite a bit if you want to search for it.

User avatar
The Collector
Legend
Legend
Posts: 6605
Joined: 23 Jan 2010, 19:26
Location: Bristol-ish

Re: Antron 99 use washers or not?

Post by The Collector »

They're anti-vibration to stop the sections coming loose. There was a topic not long ago that went into it quite a bit if you want to search for it.

User avatar
NightProwler
Veteran
Veteran
Posts: 2930
Joined: 08 Feb 2012, 22:31
Call Sign: 163TM186
Location: South Wales

Re: Antron 99 use washers or not?

Post by NightProwler »

Theres an echo in here :D
Shorter of breath and one day closer to death

Crackle
Regular
Regular
Posts: 8
Joined: 19 May 2020, 15:59

Re: Antron 99 use washers or not?

Post by Crackle »

If they are anything like the Solacon Imax then the washers are rubbish steel that will rust and could cause issues later.

User avatar
The Collector
Legend
Legend
Posts: 6605
Joined: 23 Jan 2010, 19:26
Location: Bristol-ish

Re: Antron 99 use washers or not?

Post by The Collector »

Pardon....pardon...par

I pressed send on the first one, but before it "went" I amended a typo. It must've already gone through but not shown up as having gone as it was still on my phone's screen.

User avatar
Dave C
Regular
Regular
Posts: 39
Joined: 12 May 2020, 10:46
Call Sign: 27PL259
Location: Staffordshire
Contact:

Re: Antron 99 use washers or not?

Post by Dave C »

My Antron didn't come with washers as it was from FleaBay, so I managed to get hold of some high spec galv ones, still not put it up yet!

That's a job for another day... managing with the mobile Sirio on the Merc or Van at the moment, and having some great results when square wheeled in South Cheshire in the middle of a very open field.
Life is like a box of chocolates.... Usually empty when I get there.... :crazy:

Rigs: Major M588 AM FM SSB (Std), President Grant II Premium (Std), Midland Alan 78 Plus (Std), Lowe TX 40 (Std).

Twigs: Antron 99 (Std), K40 Mag, Firestick 4', Cherokee Dial A Match 4', Sirio 1000 PL Mag.

User avatar
Tigersaw
Radio Addict
Radio Addict
Posts: 885
Joined: 19 Oct 2013, 15:48
Call Sign: GW6RRL
Location: Llanwrtyd Wells Powys
Contact:

Re: Antron 99 use washers or not?

Post by Tigersaw »

I put mine up again for a stint yesterday.
I didn't use the washers, never have, easier to assemble and disassemble, never had any issues.

Maybe if it was a fit and forget for 20 years install I'd use them.

original45
Radio Addict
Radio Addict
Posts: 666
Joined: 31 Jul 2013, 21:11
Call Sign: 45

Re: Antron 99 use washers or not?

Post by original45 »

Yup here too both antron and imax .If I'm honest the imax washers were real crap rusted to bits.
Seems to make no difference I could see at all.
Strange because it's altering length if only about 4mm .
I did wonder about using a ptfe of rubber washer wondering if transferring all the energy through the threaded centre coupler only but I really have no idea as I'm not technical.
But then the coupler pieces either side of the joint as still just as big.


Far more important aspects to concentrate on setting the antron imax up for long service.loads of self amalg tapes and dielectric grease.

User avatar
The Collector
Legend
Legend
Posts: 6605
Joined: 23 Jan 2010, 19:26
Location: Bristol-ish

Re: Antron 99 use washers or not?

Post by The Collector »

If you assemble the aerial on a hot day, the joint could become looser when it gets cold and the metal contracts very very slightly. Due to vibrations from the wind, birds hitting it, meteors striking it etc, the joint could come loose completely and then slowly, start working itself undone. It'd be going against gravity but it's still possible with the right frquency of swaying to and fro, especially if doing a circular motion. Taping the joints will help prevent this from happening a lot, but the washers help even more. The tape could also go brittle and peel off over time.

As an example of a washer's handiness, I've just had to modify a Ryobi Chainsaw/pruner pole cutter that I bought a little while back, because as soon as it suffered any vibration when the chain wasn't at its sharpest, the threaded allen bolt that keeps the chain adjusted correctly tension-wise, worked loose and the chain kept coming off. I added a thin anti-vibe washer (star-type though, not the split ones like on the Imax/Antron as they were just a bit too thick) which has stopped the chain coming loose every 30 bloody seconds when you're up 15ft on ladders cutting down 30ft high and up to 10 inch thick conifer branches ;)

User avatar
Tigersaw
Radio Addict
Radio Addict
Posts: 885
Joined: 19 Oct 2013, 15:48
Call Sign: GW6RRL
Location: Llanwrtyd Wells Powys
Contact:

Re: Antron 99 use washers or not?

Post by Tigersaw »

Back to the original post.
Look underneath where the connector is. You will see a drain hole. Don't block it with tape or gunk, its there for a reason.

User avatar
MrWeetabix
Admin
Admin
Posts: 14865
Joined: 26 Aug 2008, 13:34
Call Sign: 26TM175
Location: Gateshead

Re: Antron 99 use washers or not?

Post by MrWeetabix »

If you are iust throwing the antenna up on a temporary basis then its not really an issue. If its a permanent install then use them for sure. Some self amalgamating tape pver the joins will help keep them dry too.
26TM175. OP: Craig. QTH: Gateshead. Also 163TM175 when mobile in Wales 8)

TM1 is now on Facebook http://tinyurl.com/TM1onFB || New Tango Mike QSL cards https://tinyurl.com/TM1-NewQSL

Post Reply