Adjust modulation inside President JFK mainboard PA338AB ?

A forum for the discussion of matters of a technical nature. All such activities are undertaken at the readers discretion and own risk. If you don't know what you are doing, don't blame us if it all goes wrong!
Post Reply
User avatar
rooth
Regular
Regular
Posts: 52
Joined: 27 Mar 2017, 19:29
Location: Roma

Adjust modulation inside President JFK mainboard PA338AB ?

Post by rooth »

Hello everybody !
Do you know how modulation at JFK President ( mainboard PA338AB ) can be increased?
I made the microphone change from the dynamic variant to the elecret. It is ok, but I would like to increase the modulation a bit.
User avatar
ch25
Radio Addict
Radio Addict
Posts: 979
Joined: 03 Dec 2016, 11:07
Call Sign: Lemmy
Location: Poland

Re: Adjust modulation inside President JFK mainboard PA338AB ?

Post by ch25 »

Vr12
You can't have too many antennas...
User avatar
cb4ever104
Legend
Legend
Posts: 5332
Joined: 28 Jul 2011, 21:26
Location: Alicante , España

Re: Adjust modulation inside President JFK mainboard PA338AB ?

Post by cb4ever104 »

Thought you might have tried this first before going to the trouble of changing the element.
30TM060
Paul aka "Sammy". (108) PY60 Old Paisley DX Group (RIP Rab Markie)
Ex GM0 , now EA5 .
Handle "Fortune Hunter" back in "the day"
Radios ....? Anything that says "TAIWAN R.O.C" on the back.
User avatar
rooth
Regular
Regular
Posts: 52
Joined: 27 Mar 2017, 19:29
Location: Roma

Re: Adjust modulation inside President JFK mainboard PA338AB ?

Post by rooth »

@ ch25 : I'm not VR12 on motherboard .I looked better on the motherboard and I think it's VR5 ... What do you think?
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
User avatar
ch25
Radio Addict
Radio Addict
Posts: 979
Joined: 03 Dec 2016, 11:07
Call Sign: Lemmy
Location: Poland

Re: Adjust modulation inside President JFK mainboard PA338AB ?

Post by ch25 »

Nope, it is PWR pot. Any AM mod/AMC labelled?
Chris
You can't have too many antennas...
User avatar
rooth
Regular
Regular
Posts: 52
Joined: 27 Mar 2017, 19:29
Location: Roma

Re: Adjust modulation inside President JFK mainboard PA338AB ?

Post by rooth »

Only SQ , DEV , RF.M and S.M .
I think it must be RF.M ...?
User avatar
ch25
Radio Addict
Radio Addict
Posts: 979
Joined: 03 Dec 2016, 11:07
Call Sign: Lemmy
Location: Poland

Re: Adjust modulation inside President JFK mainboard PA338AB ?

Post by ch25 »

On 338 board there is no am mod adjustment. Just found a schematic.
You can try to remove Q31 to disable limiter, but you need to adjust micgain to avoid overmodulation.
q31.jpg
Try that, if it will be too strong we try to modify AMC level other way.
Chris
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
You can't have too many antennas...
User avatar
rooth
Regular
Regular
Posts: 52
Joined: 27 Mar 2017, 19:29
Location: Roma

Re: Adjust modulation inside President JFK mainboard PA338AB ?

Post by rooth »

:wave: OK, I'm trying. Thanks!
User avatar
Black Spirit
Veteran
Veteran
Posts: 4084
Joined: 16 Mar 2009, 19:30
Location: S.Wales

Re: Adjust modulation inside President JFK mainboard PA338AB ?

Post by Black Spirit »

DEV is for FM modulation [DEVIATION] Dont adjust it too high though or you may over deviate.
User avatar
cb4ever104
Legend
Legend
Posts: 5332
Joined: 28 Jul 2011, 21:26
Location: Alicante , España

Re: Adjust modulation inside President JFK mainboard PA338AB ?

Post by cb4ever104 »

ch25 wrote: 10 Jan 2020, 20:23 On 338 board there is no am mod adjustment. Just found a schematic.
Weird, or what ? Something to note for the future, and yet another reason not to buy a JFK
30TM060
Paul aka "Sammy". (108) PY60 Old Paisley DX Group (RIP Rab Markie)
Ex GM0 , now EA5 .
Handle "Fortune Hunter" back in "the day"
Radios ....? Anything that says "TAIWAN R.O.C" on the back.
User avatar
rooth
Regular
Regular
Posts: 52
Joined: 27 Mar 2017, 19:29
Location: Roma

Re: Adjust modulation inside President JFK mainboard PA338AB ?

Post by rooth »

@cb4ever104 : No problem, I like to experiment :D Radio is great !
User avatar
14CS06
Top Poster
Top Poster
Posts: 1297
Joined: 04 Mar 2012, 09:15
Location: JN33LN - ALPES-MARITIMES-06 France

Re: Adjust modulation inside President JFK mainboard PA338AB ?

Post by 14CS06 »

Hello

Image

Image

@+
Claude
Photo Collector CB RADIO
User avatar
ch25
Radio Addict
Radio Addict
Posts: 979
Joined: 03 Dec 2016, 11:07
Call Sign: Lemmy
Location: Poland

Re: Adjust modulation inside President JFK mainboard PA338AB ?

Post by ch25 »

What is have to do with topic we discuss here Claude?
You can't have too many antennas...
User avatar
rooth
Regular
Regular
Posts: 52
Joined: 27 Mar 2017, 19:29
Location: Roma

Re: Adjust modulation inside President JFK mainboard PA338AB ?

Post by rooth »

The limitation with Q31 I see is for AM ... For FM I am interested in canceling the limitation.
I did not find any other references on the internet related to this ....
I think in the last instance I try to increase the power from the adjustable VR5 motherboard.
Does the power increase to the left?
Do you need any further changes?
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
User avatar
ch25
Radio Addict
Radio Addict
Posts: 979
Joined: 03 Dec 2016, 11:07
Call Sign: Lemmy
Location: Poland

Re: Adjust modulation inside President JFK mainboard PA338AB ?

Post by ch25 »

Do not cancel FM limiter, you will become unreadable.
You can't have too many antennas...
Post Reply