IMAX 2000 FOR HF ?

The place to talk about specific amateur radio equipment and all types of accessories, fixes, repairs and modification.
Post Reply
User avatar
WARLOCK
Top Poster
Top Poster
Posts: 1299
Joined: 04 Jun 2008, 08:27
Call Sign: 26TM134
Location: cambridgeshire

IMAX 2000 FOR HF ?

Post by WARLOCK » 14 Oct 2015, 09:25

I am intending to use a imax 2000 / thick coax / ldg z11 tuner / yaesu ft-840 radio on the hf bands untill i can aford something better, useing this set up will i need a ugly choke just under the antenna or not ?
george---26TM134---26ST01

User avatar
MrWeetabix
Admin
Admin
Posts: 14605
Joined: 26 Aug 2008, 13:34
Call Sign: 26TM175
Location: Tynemouth

Re: IMAX 2000 FOR HF ?

Post by MrWeetabix » 14 Oct 2015, 15:12

I use mine with a Kenwood 570 and it;s internal ATU, but only use the iMax between 20-30megs, its a bit crap below 20 to be fair.

Had decent contacts on 21 and 24 megs though, so should be fine. I don't use an coax coils or chokes, just straight-fed from 213 coax. Never had any issues.

Someone may have a better experience/advice though.....
26TM175. OP: Craig. QTH: Tynemouth. Also 163TM175 when mobile in Wales 8)

PO Box: 62 Town: Albrighton City: Wolverhampton Zip: WV7 3WR

TM1 is now on Facebook http://tinyurl.com/TM1onFB || New Tango Mike QSL cards https://tinyurl.com/TM1-NewQSL

Diesel man
Regular
Regular
Posts: 36
Joined: 30 Sep 2015, 04:35
Call Sign: 121

Re: IMAX 2000 FOR HF ?

Post by Diesel man » 15 Oct 2015, 08:58

These 10-11m verticals show they tune up below 26mhz but my simple home made dipole knocks spots off my vertical on 20m.

Personally I'd forget the vertical for below 26mhz look at the cobweb plenty about the copies are cheaper than the original, mine worked the world on it good antenna for what they are or build some dipoles far better than the 10-11m antenna.

You may choose to stick with your original plan many tell you they work fine it's till you try something else you really notice the huge difference.

Post Reply