Icom ic-7300

The place to talk about specific amateur radio equipment and all types of accessories, fixes, repairs and modification.
Post Reply
Alan Pilot
Super Member
Super Member
Posts: 343
Joined: 21 Dec 2019, 07:24

Icom ic-7300

Post by Alan Pilot »

What are your thoughts/opinions on this radio.
User avatar
ch25
Top Poster
Top Poster
Posts: 1265
Joined: 03 Dec 2016, 11:07
Call Sign: Lemmy
Location: Poland

Re: Icom ic-7300

Post by ch25 »

No competition at this price tag.
WE ARE MOTÖRHEAD, AND WE PLAY ROCK N' ROLL
You can't have too many antennas...
Alan Pilot
Super Member
Super Member
Posts: 343
Joined: 21 Dec 2019, 07:24

Re: Icom ic-7300

Post by Alan Pilot »

ch25 wrote: 27 Aug 2021, 10:58 No competition at this price tag.
Is that saying it's ok ???.
User avatar
29LV145
Super Member
Super Member
Posts: 108
Joined: 18 Sep 2007, 19:31
Location: County Meath

Re: Icom ic-7300

Post by 29LV145 »

I've been using one as the main radio for ages to replace a Kenwood TS480SAT, no complaints so far - it spends most of its time on 60M FT8 in the shack and I'm happy with it.

Can't remember what I paid for it but mine was new from Dan in Bristol ( Ham Radio Shop? )

Some people complain about the fan noise on TX but that can be replaced for a quieter unit and not having an option to plug an external monitor into it but for what you pay I think its a good radio.

Andy
User avatar
ch25
Top Poster
Top Poster
Posts: 1265
Joined: 03 Dec 2016, 11:07
Call Sign: Lemmy
Location: Poland

Re: Icom ic-7300

Post by ch25 »

7300 is very good radio.
Only downside for me is lack of separate RX antenna socket, but if someone need it, can be added.
WE ARE MOTÖRHEAD, AND WE PLAY ROCK N' ROLL
You can't have too many antennas...
Alan Pilot
Super Member
Super Member
Posts: 343
Joined: 21 Dec 2019, 07:24

Re: Icom ic-7300

Post by Alan Pilot »

Thanks for the replies guy's.
Only plugged it in around 3pm yesterday and the bands where dead round my qth but quite liking it so far.
One thing i did notice was it picked up a lot of qrm but not got into the settings yet just might have to read the book.
User avatar
ch25
Top Poster
Top Poster
Posts: 1265
Joined: 03 Dec 2016, 11:07
Call Sign: Lemmy
Location: Poland

Re: Icom ic-7300

Post by ch25 »

What antenna do you have and where placed?
WE ARE MOTÖRHEAD, AND WE PLAY ROCK N' ROLL
You can't have too many antennas...
Alan Pilot
Super Member
Super Member
Posts: 343
Joined: 21 Dec 2019, 07:24

Re: Icom ic-7300

Post by Alan Pilot »

ch25 wrote: 28 Aug 2021, 11:33 What antenna do you have and where placed?
Had it on my vertical HF multiband that i don't use much as i had the 991a on the cobweb.
Swapped them over this morning and it's a lot better.
Got to get my head round the settings now but a problem arose that stopped play.
Daughter has turned up for the long weekend so that has stopped me playing radio (well just for a bit lol).
26mb04
Super Member
Super Member
Posts: 201
Joined: 23 Nov 2017, 20:14
Call Sign: 26DG01
Location: Democratic Peoples Republic of Devon

Re: Icom ic-7300

Post by 26mb04 »

I had a qso on 20m with someone on a 7300 in Canada and they sounded fine. They were running a few hundred W, but they sounded no different to anyone else. I've heard they're really popular stateside partly because you get a lot for the cash. I think SDRs are going to be the way things are done in the future.

Personally, I'm not a fan of touchscreens or multi-function clicky button-knobs. I've learned from the FT-817 that these multi-function knobs WILL wear out and start to glitch after a few years of use, and a replacement component will do the same thing after another few years. This isn't Icom or Yaesu's fault, I just think they're a bad compromise for what, in my opinion, should be three seperate components: A menu button, a function dial, and enter button. When that multi-function knob starts to glitch, you lose ALL the functions it was supposed to do, not just the one. For something that costs over a grand new, there are other radios without these components which will never have these problems.
Sent from my GP300 using DTMF
36ian
Super Member
Super Member
Posts: 273
Joined: 19 Jun 2009, 07:13
Location: cleckhuddersfax

Re: Icom ic-7300

Post by 36ian »

Bought a 7300 as an impulse buy. Never heard a bad one on air and apparently mine sounded great too. I used it mainly on 4M sadly it was not the best performer, I encountered lots of 'bleed over' from strong stations, no amount of adjusting the filters would solve it.
Sold it after about 6 months and went back to Yaesu - happy days
Post Reply