Excited! And maybe I should of thought twice...

A place for new members to say hello and to introduce yourself.

If you're not sure where to post, try here!
GDog
Regular
Regular
Call Sign: RedWold

Excited! And maybe I should of thought twice...

Post by GDog »

Hi All!
So I had a few rigs 40 years ago in my teens, Colt 777 for example which I had modded to put out 12 watts on high :D
Seriously I am not a Rig Doctor, in fact I just love the smell of old electrics lol.

Anyway, I was chatting to a mate and I was telling him I missed the old days of CB radio, I had looked on Ebay and seen a few UK 40 sets.
I was going to get a portable / hand held - but they seem to be a bit too pricey for me. Well, not that I cant afford one, but just stepping back into a hobby without much thought for its financial / time consequences (Im fairly obsessive about perfection etc, compulsive)

Anyway he said "I have an old set in the garage, I will dig it out for you". Today he kindly gave me that set.

Its a Major M888 - I cant tell you how much I wanted a Multimode II when I was 14 years old lol! They were (fully expanded) around 120 UK pounds :(
I couldnt afford one, but now finally I have 'almost' got one!

Ive not got a power supply, or an antenna, or an SWR Meter at the moment.
Ive popped the lid off it to see if its been modifed and it look like the DX / Loc switch has been replaced (I dont even remember what this would do)

So, Hello! And Help! Where do I start? Whats the set worth? Its fairly rusty but I can clean that up and try to find an original switch from somewhere.
Id like to expand it, maybe find the lower 40 channels missing from this set and put them on a switch.

It comes with a mic so thats gotta be good right? The rubber curly cord looks a bit 'aged' so I am going to try refurbishing the mic first.

Hello again, and thanks for reading this far.