Page 1 of 1

Help regard Hytera and Motorola speaking to each other

Posted: 05 Aug 2018, 19:15
by jabba2005
Hi guys and gals,

Im about pulling my hair out (not that theres much) trying to get my new hytera PD785G to work along side my Motorola which i use at work, i have placed all frequencies and colour codes and slots etc... but i find that any that are Dual Capacity mode work work.....someone said use the Psuedo Trunk but that doesnt work either. have i done something wrong or do they not talk each way as its only the Hytera not able to talk back etc...

any help is appreciated.

andy

Re: Help regard Hytera and Motorola speaking to each other

Posted: 06 Aug 2018, 15:11
by scottyboy
Is it possible the Motorola is using encryption

Re: Help regard Hytera and Motorola speaking to each other

Posted: 06 Aug 2018, 18:59
by Metradio
scottyboy wrote:
06 Aug 2018, 15:11
Is it possible the Motorola is using encryption
Or RAS - Restricted Access to System, a Motorola security feature to prevent unauthorised radios on to a system or be able to momitor it.. But scanners are still able to monitor a RAS system...
https://www.manualslib.com/manual/79294 ... l?page=336

Mike

Re: Help regard Hytera and Motorola speaking to each other

Posted: 06 Aug 2018, 21:10
by thelad
I dint think Hytera and Mototrbo would would together in a trunking mode?

Re: Help regard Hytera and Motorola speaking to each other

Posted: 06 Aug 2018, 21:58
by Metradio
Depends how DMR compliant the radios and the system are..

Mike

Re: Help regard Hytera and Motorola speaking to each other

Posted: 08 Aug 2018, 12:58
by jabba2005
Hey Guys,

Sorry was quiet for a while but i asked a known Youtube personality lol Mr Clements aka Nokiaman and hes said they dont communicate because there in Dual Capacity mode on most of the channels which is pointless as theres no repeater where i am but to change nearly 100 radios just so i can communicate with a hytera is pointless tbh.

Thanks though guys your help and wisdom is gratefully appreciated.

Andy

Re: Help regard Hytera and Motorola speaking to each other

Posted: 10 Aug 2018, 20:23
by radiosification
I think you're getting mixed up. I have never heard of anything called "dual capacity mode". There is capacity plus, which is Motorola's proprietary trunking system. There is also dual capacity direct mode, which is something completely different. Dual capacity direct mode lets two people talk on a single frequency at the same time, by getting the radios to synchronise timing. I doubt the system you want to use is using dual capacity direct mode given that you said they have nearly 100 radios. It sounds like it must be a capacity plus system.

Hytera radios will not work properly on capacity plus systems. You could set it up to listen only, by setting it to scan all the frequencies in the system, but you couldn't get it to talk reliably to the other radios.

Pseudo trunk is Hytera's version of MotoTRBO capacity plus but is not compatible. They're both proprietary systems that do basically the same thing though.

Re: Help regard Hytera and Motorola speaking to each other

Posted: 26 Oct 2018, 13:57
by bigbloke
DCDM is essentially tier2 two slot simplex which is a feature deployed by Hytera.

One radio has to be the ad-hoc network master , the rest derive slave timings from
the master - without that you would never have defined timeslot boundaries for simplex operation

I dont believe either GEN 1 or GEN 2 Motorolas support DCDM . I know some of the chinese
(e.g. RT-82 / MD9600) support it.

so if youre integrating one hytera into a fleet of Motorolas then turn off DCDM!

If you're trying to go the other way (fleet of DCDM enabled Hyteras and a single motorola) then to the best of my knowledge
it isnt going to work.

regards

BB

Re: Help regard Hytera and Motorola speaking to each other

Posted: 07 Nov 2018, 22:27
by radiosification
bigbloke wrote:
26 Oct 2018, 13:57
DCDM is essentially tier2 two slot simplex which is a feature deployed by Hytera.

One radio has to be the ad-hoc network master , the rest derive slave timings from
the master - without that you would never have defined timeslot boundaries for simplex operation

I dont believe either GEN 1 or GEN 2 Motorolas support DCDM . I know some of the chinese
(e.g. RT-82 / MD9600) support it.

so if youre integrating one hytera into a fleet of Motorolas then turn off DCDM!

If you're trying to go the other way (fleet of DCDM enabled Hyteras and a single motorola) then to the best of my knowledge
it isnt going to work.

regards

BB
Gen 1 radios don't but gen 2 radios do. My DP4800 works perfectly well on DCDM.