Page 1 of 1

Help needed - Binatone 1100 fault

Posted: 14 Jan 2020, 14:13
by treganna
Hi guys

I'd appreciate some advice on a problem with my pair of Binatone 1100 walkie-talkies.

I was messing around with them and now they have stopped working properly. The display and controls all appear fine, but I cannot broadcast or recieve from either device. I have checked all the settings on the 2 devices to make sure they match - channel, frequency, CTCSS, DCS, Vox etc. I have also tried transmitting and then listening on my scanner. No luck.

Does anyone have any ideas?

Thanks.

Re: Help needed - Binatone 1100 fault

Posted: 15 Jan 2020, 15:38
by billzebub2000
Try a factory reset, by turning the walkie-talkies on, whilst hold down the "Menu" button. Let us know how you went on.

Re: Help needed - Binatone 1100 fault

Posted: 16 Jan 2020, 11:53
by treganna
Thanks for that. Sadly, it made no difference. Weirdly I can find no reference online to doing a factory reset on these devices!

Any other ideas?

Re: Help needed - Binatone 1100 fault

Posted: 17 Jan 2020, 12:19
by billzebub2000
When you say "messing around with them", what were you doing with them? It might give us a better idea of what has gone wrong with them.

Re: Help needed - Binatone 1100 fault

Posted: 18 Jan 2020, 08:38
by treganna
I was just pressing the buttons randomly. Doesn't seem such a good idea now 😬

Re: Help needed - Binatone 1100 fault

Posted: 18 Jan 2020, 16:52
by billzebub2000
Mmm. Well, you have me stumped. Random button presses shouldn't do that to them. Did the factory reset take them back to channel 1?

Re: Help needed - Binatone 1100 fault

Posted: 19 Jan 2020, 05:03
by 26mb04
I'm going to chime in with the obligatory "Are you sure they're not key-locked?" question... I'm not familiar with the 1100, but it could be that random button mashing has locked them somehow. I'm not sure if key-locking them would disable the PTT, but it's certainly an option I've seen on some rigs.

Re: Help needed - Binatone 1100 fault

Posted: 20 Jan 2020, 16:07
by treganna
Yes, they were then on channel 1. Don't think it's the key lock because I can still turn that on and off - a key symbol appears or disappears.