Antenna tuning.

A place to discuss airband listening, frequencies and anything related to this area of the hobby.
Crash one
Regular
Regular

Antenna tuning.

Post by Crash one »

I’ve built a 120deg half wave dipole for airband TX-RX,
I was told to make each element 23 inches, which I’ve done, within .010”
However it seems from various calculators, and my own, 234 over mid range 127Mhz times 12.
I get 22.11 inches.
I also used 8mm od cupronickel tube cos I read somewhere that it’s better if the tube is 12mm rather than a bit of wire?
How much difference would this make?
I’m no expert on this stuff, in fact completely un informed!
dt307
Top Poster
Top Poster
Call Sign: 163dt307

Re: Antenna tuning.

Post by dt307 »

the thicker the element tube vs wire will effect bandwidth due to the skinning effect as rf flows on the outside .
also the above will also have some effect on the resonance of antenna.

use a swr meter to set up the antenna m8 its what they are for.
on hf a few inches makes not much difference but on vhf 2" would be maybe 10 mhz out of resonance
cut it a little longer than a standard antenna calculator and trim to resonance to get the lowest swr
163dt307-chris

“I fear the day that technology will surpass our human interaction. The world will have a generation of idiots.”
― Albert Einstein
Tigersaw
Radio Addict
Radio Addict
Call Sign: GW6RRL

Post by Tigersaw »

You intend to TX on airband?
Crash one
Regular
Regular

Post by Crash one »

Thanks for that. You say the thicker tube will affect bandwidth, in what way? I read somewhere that the diameter should be divisions of its length. I worked out somehow (forgot how) that 12mm would be best?
I also discovered that using an swr meter in a hangar with a steel door is not a good idea!
So if I were to remove the antenna and test it outside the aircraft, would the testing/tuning make sense when it is replaced, the aircraft is wood and fabric but it has an engine four metres from the antenna.