inside or out

This is the place to discuss any general CB radio related topics. Getting started, installations, operation etc.
para999

inside or out

Post by para999 »

hi all newbie here.
I am restricted as to where I can position a home base aerial, I cannot have a dipole it has to be a relatively small aerial.i have tried an Excalibur and found this not much good have not gone over to a boomerang. this is for cb and sideband.
my question is roughly what difference would a receiving signal ( only) be for the boomerang mounted in the loft to that of one mounted outside on the tv mast half way up my semi? I know it might be difficult but a percentage difference would be good in able to appreciate your reply.
thank you
Admiral
Legend
Legend
Call Sign: 26TM157

Re: inside or out

Post by Admiral »

Negligible for RX.
Winner of the 2017 IBTL 'Summer Sizzler' competition
para999

Post by para999 »

many thanks
The Collector
Legend
Legend

Post by The Collector »

Regardless of which one you use, try and get it to clear the roof if you can at all. The signal will hopefully clear all of your neighbours roofs then too.

Both aerials mentioned are known for their lack of range due to their limited size (the bigger the better up to 22ft most of the time).

Otherwise, as per other topics with the same theme, think about an inverted-dipole in the loft or a 9ft "tank-whip" with a simple ground-plane wire hanging down from the base. They're only about 4mm wide so don't stand out so easily. It's very stealthy and may easily double your range if it's just poking above the roof.
para999

Post by para999 »