Lothian Buses Trunked System

Scanning radio frequencies for Scotland
Post Reply
User avatar
spykeboi
Regular
Regular
Posts: 17
Joined: 14 Mar 2013, 21:39
Call Sign: 2M1SB

Lothian Buses Trunked System

Post by spykeboi »

Evening folks!

Sat at home, bored with this Covid stuff.

I've recently got an SDR Dongle and I'm trying to put together Lothian Buses Trunked Radio.

Currently I have 177.2125 as the control frequency that the system is picking up and getting messages.

How do I find the voice channels?

stratocaster
Radio Addict
Radio Addict
Posts: 626
Joined: 18 Jul 2012, 07:57
Location: Edinburgh,Scotland.

Re: Lothian Buses Trunked System

Post by stratocaster »

177.5750 and 185.5750 with the former most active. I think you'll find those 2 frequencies helpful.
You can never have enough radios!

User avatar
spykeboi
Regular
Regular
Posts: 17
Joined: 14 Mar 2013, 21:39
Call Sign: 2M1SB

Re: Lothian Buses Trunked System

Post by spykeboi »

Cheers!
I've still to add to my channel list, but slowly getting there.
I don't think 177.5750 will be a very strong signal for me, as I'm in Bonnyrigg, Midlothian, that frequency is from the Fife transmitter

stratocaster
Radio Addict
Radio Addict
Posts: 626
Joined: 18 Jul 2012, 07:57
Location: Edinburgh,Scotland.

Re: Lothian Buses Trunked System

Post by stratocaster »

Those are the only 2 I have without the constant chirruping. I will have another check of the frequencies probably this weekend (hoping not to be in tesco's too long on Saturday) Bonnyrigg is slightly more elevated than Edinburgh,you never know, you may still get a strong enough signal. I'm in Newcraighall and can see Fife and the Ochills out of my sittingroom window (live in a top floor flat), but some signals are attenuated due to the lie of the land (Arthur's seat being the main culprit!, that and not allowed antenna out on the roof- Housing association house). So can't get Waverley station anymore, gone digital too I believe. So even a DMR signal will be attenuated.
You can never have enough radios!

elliotg
Super Member
Super Member
Posts: 332
Joined: 19 Nov 2011, 09:13
Location: Edinburgh

Re: Lothian Buses Trunked System

Post by elliotg »

I get the buses on 177.5750, 178.0500, 178.1500, 178.4250 they are just from memory. I now get constant noise on them now so makes listening a pest now. I live close to Fort Kinaird and get not bad coverage for most stuff. As said before lay of the land is strange when it comes to scanning. I used to live in Clermiston 15 min walk away from Edinburgh Zoo but could not pick up the Zoo at all 165.8750. I now live on the other side of town and pick up the zoo no problem but this was due to Corstorphine Hill blocking the signal.
Whistler TRX-1

milly
Super Member
Super Member
Posts: 343
Joined: 22 Jan 2009, 12:41

Re: Lothian Buses Trunked System

Post by milly »

What type of trunked system? Does it transmit the channel grants with a number? If so you should be able to work out the allocations fairly quickly
"Search engine? How do I find that?"
"Sod it, let someone else do it"

stratocaster
Radio Addict
Radio Addict
Posts: 626
Joined: 18 Jul 2012, 07:57
Location: Edinburgh,Scotland.

Re: Lothian Buses Trunked System

Post by stratocaster »

I think it's MPT1327 they use, and can't see it changing.
You can never have enough radios!

milly
Super Member
Super Member
Posts: 343
Joined: 22 Jan 2009, 12:41

Re: Lothian Buses Trunked System

Post by milly »

stratocaster wrote:
18 May 2020, 07:57
I think it's MPT1327 they use, and can't see it changing.
If that is the case then it should be very simple for the OP to sort out the frequencies it uses as all of the channel grants will be in the control data.
"Search engine? How do I find that?"
"Sod it, let someone else do it"

Post Reply