Nottingham Trams

Scanning radio frequencies for the East Midlands
neil57uk1
Super Member
Super Member
Posts: 163
Joined: 02 Mar 2012, 20:57

Nottingham Trams

Post by neil57uk1 »

The band III net on the Nottingham Trams appears to be no longer used. Some time ago the WTR listed various 440mhz freqs that included the new line extension but they are dead. Not even digital noise.

Testing is now underway on the new line so should be opening soon.

Close call has produced nothing. Anybody come across the new allocation?
User avatar
bigpimp347
Legend
Legend
Posts: 8499
Joined: 08 Aug 2009, 10:23
Location: J26 Nottingham

Re: Nottingham Trams

Post by bigpimp347 »

i hear them on 180mhz to around 200mhz
I want to Die Asleep like my Grandad did,
Unlike his Passengers, Screaming and Shouting.!
radtech
Super Member
Super Member
Posts: 277
Joined: 09 May 2010, 20:22
Call Sign: Rich
Location: Notts.

Re: Nottingham Trams

Post by radtech »

The last time I looked they were still on band III. Not checked for a few months.

You might have to get on one of those new model trams and see if you can spot what radio is installed!
Rich
neil57uk1
Super Member
Super Member
Posts: 163
Joined: 02 Mar 2012, 20:57

Re: Nottingham Trams

Post by neil57uk1 »

The nine 177/178 mhz channels died in the summer although the data channels are still running.

I was expecting a migration to the 12 new 440/441 mhz channels listed in the wtr for about a year but this has not happened.

Nottingham busses are still on 180/181 so I guess that what the gent who states he can still hear them is listening to.

Had a few rides and drivers seem to have Motorola type handies.
radtech
Super Member
Super Member
Posts: 277
Joined: 09 May 2010, 20:22
Call Sign: Rich
Location: Notts.

Re: Nottingham Trams

Post by radtech »

WTR Nottingham Trams UHF listing :
http://spectruminfo.ofcom.org.uk/spectr ... nd+licence

Presumably power output was meant to be 10W not 100W as they've been licenced for! Also odd that they've been assigned 25khz channels.

I wonder if they are piggybacking onto another MotoTRBO system (City council) or Hired until theirs is built?
Rich
neil57uk1
Super Member
Super Member
Posts: 163
Joined: 02 Mar 2012, 20:57

Re: Nottingham Trams

Post by neil57uk1 »

Have been aware of this licence for over a year and I note that the licence dates back to Feb 13.

Not a squeak from these freqs. Expected it to be digital but nothing. The mast sites cover the line extensions.
takara
Super Member
Super Member
Posts: 112
Joined: 30 Apr 2011, 11:03

Re: Nottingham Trams

Post by takara »

radtech wrote:
Presumably power output was meant to be 10W not 100W as they've been licenced for! Also odd that they've been assigned 25khz channels.
And 13 dBi antenna gain. Don't know about Nottingham would think that signal could be heard in Devon.
dnshaw
Regular
Regular
Posts: 13
Joined: 08 Nov 2012, 15:24

Re: Nottingham Trams

Post by dnshaw »

Checking my log 441.6000 / 441.6500 carry both data and voice traffic, mostly data. The voice transmission is a little stronger in signal, with careful setting of the squelch you may be able set your receiver to only lock on the voice transmission.
radtech
Super Member
Super Member
Posts: 277
Joined: 09 May 2010, 20:22
Call Sign: Rich
Location: Notts.

Re: Nottingham Trams

Post by radtech »

They are from the Radcomm system on Mapperley top.
Rich
neil57uk1
Super Member
Super Member
Posts: 163
Joined: 02 Mar 2012, 20:57

Re: Nottingham Trams

Post by neil57uk1 »

So are you saying that you have monitored trams on 441.600 and 441.650 which according to the WTR are two of four freqs used by Radcomm at the Mapperley Top transmitter site? WTR shows callsign CBS and also lists 441.7125 and 441.8875.

Thanks in anticipation of your clarification.
dnshaw
Regular
Regular
Posts: 13
Joined: 08 Nov 2012, 15:24

Re: Nottingham Trams

Post by dnshaw »

neil57uk1 wrote:So are you saying that you have monitored trams on 441.600 and 441.650 which according to the WTR are two of four freqs used by Radcomm at the Mapperley Top transmitter site? WTR shows callsign CBS and also lists 441.7125 and 441.8875.

Thanks in anticipation of your clarification.
Sorry I wasn't very clear, I can't confirm I have monitored trams on the frequencies my log shows just voice/data. My intention was just to let you know there is voice traffic in the band and it may sometimes share frequencies with data.
User avatar
Gemini4
Radio Addict
Radio Addict
Posts: 941
Joined: 02 Jan 2010, 21:26
Location: Derbyshire

Re: Nottingham Trams

Post by Gemini4 »

used to pick the trams up everyday..but i hear nothing now :(
neil57uk1
Super Member
Super Member
Posts: 163
Joined: 02 Mar 2012, 20:57

Re: Nottingham Trams

Post by neil57uk1 »

Yep nothing on the old band III or on the new 400mhz allocation listed in the WTR. So where have they gone?
radtech
Super Member
Super Member
Posts: 277
Joined: 09 May 2010, 20:22
Call Sign: Rich
Location: Notts.

Re: Nottingham Trams

Post by radtech »

They must be using another MotoTRBO system. Might be worth checking what DMR signals are out there.
Rich
User avatar
radiosification
Top Poster
Top Poster
Posts: 2486
Joined: 27 Dec 2010, 23:52
Location: London
Contact:

Re: Nottingham Trams

Post by radiosification »

Dunno what you lot are on about. I can clearly hear tetra on frequencies around 440 to 441 MHz which are all licenced to the trams.
If you're interested in digital voice, check out my YouTube channel:
http://www.youtube.com/radiosification
Post Reply