TYT Dual Band

Use this section to discuss Digital Amateur Radio operations, such as D-Star and other digitally-encoded traffic
paulears
Radio Addict
Radio Addict
Posts: 541
Joined: 10 Jun 2007, 22:41
Call Sign: G4RMT
Location: North East Suffolk
Contact:

Re: TYT Dual Band

Postby paulears » 28 Jun 2017, 07:48

Anybody know if the rumours surfacing of incompatibility with certain versions of Windows is true?

BK
Top Poster
Top Poster
Posts: 1223
Joined: 17 Jan 2007, 11:17

Re: TYT Dual Band

Postby BK » 30 Jun 2017, 12:05

delboyonline wrote:Got my hands on one......


One of the annoyances with the MD-380 was that the volume control didn't control the volume of beeps, so if you wanted to use the radio with an earpiece you had to turn off all beeps or risk being deafened. I don't suppose they've fixed this in the MD-2017?

User avatar
GaryWilson
Regular
Regular
Posts: 30
Joined: 26 Dec 2015, 18:58
Call Sign: 26CT1836
Location: Sydenham, London.

Re: TYT Dual Band

Postby GaryWilson » 22 Jul 2017, 08:07

Hi all, so just bought a HT 500D from Moonraker which is a clone of the TYT MD 2017. First impressions are a really well built radio, I've not used DMR before so my reason for buying from Moonraker is they pre load every digital and analogue repeater in the uk into the radio for you!! Lazy I know but useful for the DMR novice, I was listening to the Caterham repeater whilst on Battersea bridge and the audio sounded clear and agreeable to the ear, I received my DMR I.D. this morning so will have a play over the next few days and report my experiences.

73 Gary.
26CT1836 2E0GGQ

BK
Top Poster
Top Poster
Posts: 1223
Joined: 17 Jan 2007, 11:17

Re: TYT Dual Band

Postby BK » 22 Jul 2017, 12:14

Ah, you'll soon be writing your own codeplugs, or at least modifying the one you've got. I bought the Retevis rt82 (same radio) from a UK supplier rather than China because I'm impatient, but the UK codeplug it came with didn't actually include several of our local repeaters so I had to add them myself anyway. It also doesn't contain any 2 metre FM simplex channels, I'm wondering if that's because some areas are using the new narrow channels while others are still using the old wide ones?

User avatar
kilimax
Top Poster
Top Poster
Posts: 1468
Joined: 05 May 2014, 09:18
Call Sign: GM0BRJ
Location: Lanarkshire, Scotland

Re: TYT Dual Band

Postby kilimax » 22 Jul 2017, 13:31

BK wrote:Ah, you'll soon be writing your own codeplugs, or at least modifying the one you've got. I bought the Retevis rt82 (same radio) from a UK supplier rather than China because I'm impatient, but the UK codeplug it came with didn't actually include several of our local repeaters so I had to add them myself anyway. It also doesn't contain any 2 metre FM simplex channels, I'm wondering if that's because some areas are using the new narrow channels while others are still using the old wide ones?


I have purchased the Retevis version myself. It only arrived yesterday so haven't had a chance to open the box and I'm working this weekend so it will need to wait. Codeplug came on a disc along with a programming lead (an extra with the Retevis)

Anyway, I have a MD-380 at the moment and this will hopefully replace it. Hoping they have solved some of the niggles too! :think:
Kilimax - Drew
Amateur Callsign GM0BRJ
Tango Mike Callsign 108TM144

I've changed my equipment so many times, I've forgotten what I have

BK
Top Poster
Top Poster
Posts: 1223
Joined: 17 Jan 2007, 11:17

Re: TYT Dual Band

Postby BK » 22 Jul 2017, 14:14

kilimax wrote:I have purchased the Retevis version myself. It only arrived yesterday so haven't had a chance to open the box and I'm working this weekend so it will need to wait. Codeplug came on a disc along with a programming lead (an extra with the Retevis)

Anyway, I have a MD-380 at the moment and this will hopefully replace it. Hoping they have solved some of the niggles too! :think:


You can get the rt82 from China with the programming cable included, if you're prepared to wait weeks for it to arrive. If you buy from the UK then it's extra, but at the time I got mine all the UK ebay sellers were out of stock so it would have come from China anyway, hence my decision to buy from a shop instead. Ironically, having spent a bit more to get the radio quickly, I haven't had a lot of time to play with mine either :roll:

I used to have an md380 too, always found it a bit small and fiddly for my hands, I prefer the rt82 in that respect. It's not quite niggle-free, but luckily they all appear to be firmware related.

User avatar
GaryWilson
Regular
Regular
Posts: 30
Joined: 26 Dec 2015, 18:58
Call Sign: 26CT1836
Location: Sydenham, London.

Re: TYT Dual Band

Postby GaryWilson » 22 Jul 2017, 17:15

BK wrote:Ah, you'll soon be writing your own codeplugs, or at least modifying the one you've got. I bought the Retevis rt82 (same radio) from a UK supplier rather than China because I'm impatient, but the UK codeplug it came with didn't actually include several of our local repeaters so I had to add them myself anyway. It also doesn't contain any 2 metre FM simplex channels, I'm wondering if that's because some areas are using the new narrow channels while others are still using the old wide ones?


I certainly hope so, just starting to get to grips with the menu functions, mine came with the Retrevis rt 82 software so it's actually more akin to that than the MD 2017 the 2 meter FM simplex channels appear to be present on my codeplug so hopefully will be able to make some contacts soon :thumbup:
26CT1836 2E0GGQ


Return to “Amateur Radio - Digital voice and data”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests