Any interest in Philips FM1100/FM1000 radios?

The place to talk about specific amateur radio equipment and all types of accessories, fixes, repairs and modification.
sardylan
Regular
Regular
Posts: 11
Joined: 08 May 2017, 21:19
Call Sign: IS0GVH
Location: JM49sk
Contact:

Re: Any interest in Philips FM1100/FM1000 radios?

Postby sardylan » 18 May 2017, 10:43

I'm sorry but I'm a little busy at job in this period.
I collected a lot of useful informations, so many many thanks to all of you.
I'll work for integrating all features in my App as soon as possible and I will inform you about progresses.

sardylan
Regular
Regular
Posts: 11
Joined: 08 May 2017, 21:19
Call Sign: IS0GVH
Location: JM49sk
Contact:

Re: Any interest in Philips FM1100/FM1000 radios?

Postby sardylan » 17 Jun 2017, 22:21

After more or less a month I managed to integrate all features in my application.
I preapred a build for windows 64bit that can be downloaded from https://github.com/sardylan/qfm1000.
I'm still working for a windows 32bit and Mac edition. Until then and for other platforms like Linux, source code can be compiled.

Main features as channel edit, TOT and startup channel are working, but a week ago I broke my eeprom programmer, so I couldn't test the last features.

Programming EEPROM like 24C16 can be also done using Arduino... I'm also working in a sketch for adding a read/write feature in my software using Arduino as programmer (a cheap, simple, and USB based solution, better than using a parallel port programmer with external power supply).

recat
Regular
Regular
Posts: 23
Joined: 30 Apr 2017, 03:53

Re: Any interest in Philips FM1100/FM1000 radios?

Postby recat » 17 Jun 2017, 22:46

sardylan wrote:After more or less a month I managed to integrate all features in my application.
I preapred a build for windows 64bit that can be downloaded from https://github.com/sardylan/qfm1000.
I'm still working for a windows 32bit and Mac edition. Until then and for other platforms like Linux, source code can be compiled.

Main features as channel edit, TOT and startup channel are working, but a week ago I broke my eeprom programmer, so I couldn't test the last features.

Programming EEPROM like 24C16 can be also done using Arduino... I'm also working in a sketch for adding a read/write feature in my software using Arduino as programmer (a cheap, simple, and USB based solution, better than using a parallel port programmer with external power supply).


Good on you for doing that. I still haven't been able to find the time to complete my own one.
:(

What FM1100 models and bands have you tested this with?

Also, I can't seem to find any binaries in that link.
UHF: Philips FM1100 UHF w/PA4DEN - Baofeng UV5RA x 2 - Alinco DJ-580T - Midland G7 XTR
CB's: Colt Black Shadow SSB - Intek FM548SX - Nagai PRO-200 - Alan 78 Plus Multi - President Taylor

oh5nxo
Regular
Regular
Posts: 36
Joined: 24 Apr 2017, 18:41
Call Sign: oh5nxo
Location: kp30xr

Re: Any interest in Philips FM1100/FM1000 radios?

Postby oh5nxo » 18 Jun 2017, 06:13

sardylan wrote:Programming EEPROM like 24C16


You know the DDC on VGA connector? It's convenient, if you still have the VGA.

Juha

sardylan
Regular
Regular
Posts: 11
Joined: 08 May 2017, 21:19
Call Sign: IS0GVH
Location: JM49sk
Contact:

Re: Any interest in Philips FM1100/FM1000 radios?

Postby sardylan » 18 Jun 2017, 10:37

recat wrote:What FM1100 models and bands have you tested this with?

Band A9 (146-174 MHz) only.
I have VHF only devices, so I'm developing the software for VHF only. For UHF frequency there is only a different representation and different compute to obtain the right HEX code, so I think that it will be simple to add UHF frequencies feature.

recat wrote:Also, I can't seem to find any binaries in that link.

Check the "Release" section on GitHub page.
You will find a single ZIP archive with the executable and libraries inside.

oh5nxo wrote:You know the DDC on VGA connector? It's convenient, if you still have the VGA.

Thank you for your information. I'm sorry but I didn't know that VGA had a i2c bus.
I no longer have any VGA port on all PC, even on laptop, and I don't know if any DVI-VGA or DP-VGA adapter could be used.
Although it seems to be "based" on i2c (DDC2 only, according on Wikipedia), it's shared with monitor to exchange EDID informations. Perhaps it's a more complicated solution, especially for a cross-platform solution.

recat
Regular
Regular
Posts: 23
Joined: 30 Apr 2017, 03:53

Re: Any interest in Philips FM1100/FM1000 radios?

Postby recat » 18 Jun 2017, 15:11

I've opened one of my test bins and it seems to display chinese characters for the CTCSS codes and then crashed.
Image

However it seemed to work on another bin I had. Not sure what's going on there.
UHF: Philips FM1100 UHF w/PA4DEN - Baofeng UV5RA x 2 - Alinco DJ-580T - Midland G7 XTR
CB's: Colt Black Shadow SSB - Intek FM548SX - Nagai PRO-200 - Alan 78 Plus Multi - President Taylor

sardylan
Regular
Regular
Posts: 11
Joined: 08 May 2017, 21:19
Call Sign: IS0GVH
Location: JM49sk
Contact:

Re: Any interest in Philips FM1100/FM1000 radios?

Postby sardylan » 18 Jun 2017, 15:38

recat wrote:I've opened one of my test bins and it seems to display chinese characters for the CTCSS codes and then crashed.
However it seemed to work on another bin I had. Not sure what's going on there.

:shock: :shock: :shock:

Never seen before... Tested on online EEPROM files, on data read from mounted chip, but never had this result...
Can you send me the file via mail, please? I will debug it to see what's going on...

recat
Regular
Regular
Posts: 23
Joined: 30 Apr 2017, 03:53

Re: Any interest in Philips FM1100/FM1000 radios?

Postby recat » 18 Jun 2017, 15:46

sardylan wrote:
recat wrote:I've opened one of my test bins and it seems to display chinese characters for the CTCSS codes and then crashed.
However it seemed to work on another bin I had. Not sure what's going on there.

:shock: :shock: :shock:

Never seen before... Tested on online EEPROM files, on data read from mounted chip, but never had this result...
Can you send me the file via mail, please? I will debug it to see what's going on...

It's the 2m_24c16.bin file from the yahoo groups file section: https://groups.yahoo.com/neo/groups/FM1 ... %20EEPROM/
UHF: Philips FM1100 UHF w/PA4DEN - Baofeng UV5RA x 2 - Alinco DJ-580T - Midland G7 XTR
CB's: Colt Black Shadow SSB - Intek FM548SX - Nagai PRO-200 - Alan 78 Plus Multi - President Taylor

sardylan
Regular
Regular
Posts: 11
Joined: 08 May 2017, 21:19
Call Sign: IS0GVH
Location: JM49sk
Contact:

Re: Any interest in Philips FM1100/FM1000 radios?

Postby sardylan » 19 Jun 2017, 08:02

@recat,
my method getChannelTxCtcss() return a value of 90 (in hex 0x5a), which is outside the range of valid CTCSS values.
In particular there is a SegFault due to the method searching for the 90th element of the CTCSS array, which has only 39 possible values (38 CTCSS + "OFF").

Looking to your file (the one from Yahoo Group) it seems that there is a different offset where channel information starts. Perhaps I'm missing some informations, but I think that there is a problem with that file, because reading, editing and writing eeprom using my software seems to works without problems.

Anyway, many thanks for testing. During the week I will make some tests with two different radios (and a new programmer).

sardylan
Regular
Regular
Posts: 11
Joined: 08 May 2017, 21:19
Call Sign: IS0GVH
Location: JM49sk
Contact:

Re: Any interest in Philips FM1100/FM1000 radios?

Postby sardylan » 19 Jun 2017, 19:47

I made some tests with a new eeprom programmer and my software.
Channel frequencies seems to works without problems, the same for channel power and for "startup" channel (at least 0xff and 0x00 seems to work).

On the contrary, there is no way for me to make CTCSS values to work.
It has very strange behaviours.
I configured first channel to be without CTCSS, both RX and TX, and second one with 67.0 Hz, both TX and RX.
In both channel radio squelch opens only if I enable CTCSS on trasmitter on 203.5 or 206.5.
I made some test changing selective calling and cpu offset flags, with no result.

Any idea on what and where is the problem?

recat
Regular
Regular
Posts: 23
Joined: 30 Apr 2017, 03:53

Re: Any interest in Philips FM1100/FM1000 radios?

Postby recat » 19 Jun 2017, 19:56

These are very strange results. I didn't get them myself on my software. can you post your channel hex codes here?
UHF: Philips FM1100 UHF w/PA4DEN - Baofeng UV5RA x 2 - Alinco DJ-580T - Midland G7 XTR
CB's: Colt Black Shadow SSB - Intek FM548SX - Nagai PRO-200 - Alan 78 Plus Multi - President Taylor

sardylan
Regular
Regular
Posts: 11
Joined: 08 May 2017, 21:19
Call Sign: IS0GVH
Location: JM49sk
Contact:

Re: Any interest in Philips FM1100/FM1000 radios?

Postby sardylan » 20 Jun 2017, 06:22

I configured a test bin (attached below) with the following configuration:
  • First 10 channels have the same RX and TX frequency set to 145.350 MHz
  • First 5 channels have no CTCSS, both in RX and TX, last ones have 67.0 Hz CTCSS in both RX and TX
  • In each group of 5 all channels have different values of TX power (1, 6, 10, 15 and 25)
  • CPU offset is enable only in the second group (channels from 5 to 9)
  • Selective Calling is enabled only on the first group (channels from 0 to 4)

HEX values, starting from offset 0x26, are:

Code: Select all

Channel 0: 5A D8 5A D8 00 00 C8 ED
Channel 1: 5A D8 5A D8 00 00 D0 ED
Channel 2: 5A D8 5A D8 00 00 D8 ED
Channel 3: 5A D8 5A D8 00 00 E0 ED
Channel 4: 5A D8 5A D8 00 00 E8 ED

Channel 5: 5A D8 5A D8 01 01 C8 C6
Channel 6: 5A D8 5A D8 01 01 D0 C6
Channel 7: 5A D8 5A D8 01 01 D8 C6
Channel 8: 5A D8 5A D8 01 01 E0 C6
Channel 9: 5A D8 5A D8 01 01 E8 C6
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

recat
Regular
Regular
Posts: 23
Joined: 30 Apr 2017, 03:53

Re: Any interest in Philips FM1100/FM1000 radios?

Postby recat » 20 Jun 2017, 10:01

Try setting your TX codes all to E827, that is my go-to default failsafe code.
UHF: Philips FM1100 UHF w/PA4DEN - Baofeng UV5RA x 2 - Alinco DJ-580T - Midland G7 XTR
CB's: Colt Black Shadow SSB - Intek FM548SX - Nagai PRO-200 - Alan 78 Plus Multi - President Taylor

Diesel man
Regular
Regular
Posts: 36
Joined: 30 Sep 2015, 04:35
Call Sign: 121

Re: Any interest in Philips FM1100/FM1000 radios?

Postby Diesel man » 22 Jun 2017, 13:00

We used them on the Railways every train had one with the direct entry key pad to the right and the red emergency button in the front middle.

Good radio in the train environment with a cold cab the display would freeze until warmed up, otherwise no problems.

All were removed for GSMR.

Repeaters
Regular
Regular
Posts: 53
Joined: 15 Jan 2012, 19:25
Location: Everywhere and nowhere! zero divided by zero is?

Re: Any interest in Philips FM1100/FM1000 radios?

Postby Repeaters » 23 Jun 2017, 11:19

I have a few remote mount kits and dtmf mics left over from a business shut down, along with mounting trays and power plugs if anyone is interested.
Damn good radios in their day.


Return to “Amateur Radio - Equipment Discussion”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests