Using intermediate license abroad?

A place to discuss the amateur radio licence, training and examination.
Post Reply
User avatar
MW0SWA
Super Member
Super Member
Posts: 239
Joined: 04 Aug 2012, 15:00
Call Sign: MW0SWA
Location: Carmarthenshire

Using intermediate license abroad?

Post by MW0SWA » 21 Feb 2014, 18:48

Ok i know we all learned during training that most other countries do not routinely acknowledge the intermediate license. But is there any countries that will let you use your intermediate callsign whilst holidaying there?
Im going to Malta next month, and i want to take my handie. I think i will send an email to the Malta Amateur Radio League anyway.
I am a bit crazy about the Realistic DX-394

M5AKA
Regular
Regular
Posts: 82
Joined: 07 Oct 2013, 11:31
Call Sign: M5AKA

Re: Using intermediate license abroad?

Post by M5AKA » 21 Feb 2014, 20:35

The UK Intermediate equates to the CEPT Novice Licence http://www.erodocdb.dk/Docs/doc98/offic ... EC0506.PDF

Both Foundation and Intermediate holders have managed to get a reciprocal licence to operate abroad.

Not all countries will do it but for those that do you just apply to the national regulator for a licence.

Trevor M5AKA

User avatar
GW0DIV
Radio Addict
Radio Addict
Posts: 996
Joined: 13 Aug 2010, 18:23
Call Sign: GW0DIV
Contact:

Re: Using intermediate license abroad?

Post by GW0DIV » 23 Feb 2014, 16:37

Malta are not CEPT signatories so you have to apply for a maltese visitors call. They use the old RAE, class A, class B system so you might get a class B licence giving 6m and up. I have all the forms somewhere as I was going to apply when I went to Malta last October.
http://www.facebook.com/southwalesradio

http://www.radioclubs.net/rars/

Twitter: @GW0DIV

President of Bristol Channel Repeater Group

User avatar
GW0DIV
Radio Addict
Radio Addict
Posts: 996
Joined: 13 Aug 2010, 18:23
Call Sign: GW0DIV
Contact:

Re: Using intermediate license abroad?

Post by GW0DIV » 23 Feb 2014, 16:39

Just to reiterate, you can't just turn up and operate 9H/2E......., youll end up on the naughty step!!!!!
http://www.facebook.com/southwalesradio

http://www.radioclubs.net/rars/

Twitter: @GW0DIV

President of Bristol Channel Repeater Group

User avatar
MW0SWA
Super Member
Super Member
Posts: 239
Joined: 04 Aug 2012, 15:00
Call Sign: MW0SWA
Location: Carmarthenshire

Re: Using intermediate license abroad?

Post by MW0SWA » 24 Feb 2014, 20:22

Cheers for reply lads.
GW0DIV, mate i have been on the Malta Amateur radio League website and there is an option there to apply for a visitors license, but only suggests doing it by post and fax, and not email. I am going over there in 3 weeks time so i cant really apply by post as i wont have much time.
All i want to do is turn up, relax in hotel with a few hundred beers and use my 2 metre baofeng on the local repeaters.
I have sent the malta amateur radio league an email but have yet recieved no reply. I might see if they have a fax machine in work.
I will keep you posted on how i get on.
73's
2W0MST
I am a bit crazy about the Realistic DX-394

User avatar
GW0DIV
Radio Addict
Radio Addict
Posts: 996
Joined: 13 Aug 2010, 18:23
Call Sign: GW0DIV
Contact:

Re: Using intermediate license abroad?

Post by GW0DIV » 25 Feb 2014, 17:59

They will do it by email, or just take the forms with you and they can apparently do it there and then. You'll need your licence number, passport number and make, model and serial number of the equipment you're taking.
http://www.facebook.com/southwalesradio

http://www.radioclubs.net/rars/

Twitter: @GW0DIV

President of Bristol Channel Repeater Group

User avatar
MW0SWA
Super Member
Super Member
Posts: 239
Joined: 04 Aug 2012, 15:00
Call Sign: MW0SWA
Location: Carmarthenshire

Re: Using intermediate license abroad?

Post by MW0SWA » 07 Mar 2014, 10:11

GW0DIV wrote:They will do it by email, or just take the forms with you and they can apparently do it there and then. You'll need your licence number, passport number and make, model and serial number of the equipment you're taking.
It's all being processed by email as we speak mate.
I do have to pay a small fee of 11 euro as my intermediate license is not CEPT. I take it the full license is CEPT category and that i would save the 11 euro if i had my full license ticket?

another small incentive to get my full license done asap
I am a bit crazy about the Realistic DX-394

M5AKA
Regular
Regular
Posts: 82
Joined: 07 Oct 2013, 11:31
Call Sign: M5AKA

Re: Using intermediate license abroad?

Post by M5AKA » 11 Mar 2014, 14:31

Great news, 11 Euros is a small price to pay. Which bands does the licence cover ?

There are three CEPT amateur radio licences:
- Class 1 equivalent of UK Full
- Novice equivalent of UK Intermediate
- Entry level equivalent of UK Foundation

But Ofcom hasn't yet signed up to CEPT Novice or Entry level.

Have a great holiday

User avatar
GW0DIV
Radio Addict
Radio Addict
Posts: 996
Joined: 13 Aug 2010, 18:23
Call Sign: GW0DIV
Contact:

Re: Using intermediate license abroad?

Post by GW0DIV » 11 Mar 2014, 17:43

Malta aren't part of CEPT so you'll get a nice shiny 9H callsign!!
http://www.facebook.com/southwalesradio

http://www.radioclubs.net/rars/

Twitter: @GW0DIV

President of Bristol Channel Repeater Group

User avatar
MW0SWA
Super Member
Super Member
Posts: 239
Joined: 04 Aug 2012, 15:00
Call Sign: MW0SWA
Location: Carmarthenshire

Re: Using intermediate license abroad?

Post by MW0SWA » 13 Mar 2014, 16:57

Cheers for your replies guys.

I have received my Maltese Visitors license via email today.

My callsign is 9H3SM

i cannot wait to use it.
I am a bit crazy about the Realistic DX-394

radio_ryan
Top Poster
Top Poster
Posts: 1205
Joined: 29 Dec 2009, 16:12
Location: North East Derbyshire

Re: Using intermediate license abroad?

Post by radio_ryan » 27 Jun 2014, 14:59

the family over in AUS keep saying come down under for a long holiday they offered to pay and put me up. but a few thing put me off No radio, to hot, never been old a plain in my life. would it be possible to get a call has a 2E0 for use down under

Or I take it if this mean if We went on holiday to say Germany I can use the repeaters and simplex has a 2E0. it going agency the understand I had I was on the understand you needed a full call. which I am working on.

User avatar
26TM944
Radio Addict
Radio Addict
Posts: 864
Joined: 28 Feb 2011, 14:19
Call Sign: 26TM944
Location: Bletchley
Contact:

Re: Using intermediate license abroad?

Post by 26TM944 » 27 Jun 2014, 15:12

RedDragon wrote:Cheers for your replies guys.

I have received my Maltese Visitors license via email today.

My callsign is 9H3SM

i cannot wait to use it.
Must be a reissue - https://dxheat.com/db/9H3SM/ unless you've been in a time machine and called Mike now :-)

73 Steve and yes get the FULL and forget having to worry about all these classes!
26-TM-944
  • A rig, twig & burner.

User avatar
gmbuspunk1994
Regular
Regular
Posts: 11
Joined: 23 Dec 2018, 19:07
Call Sign: M6WXF

Re: Using intermediate license abroad?

Post by gmbuspunk1994 » 29 Mar 2019, 19:10

Aww well done I applied to Iceland but got a no i would have a stab at the other levels but it lack of avalibllty of a club and I don’t really need more power
Yaesu FT1XD
Kenwood TH74D
Moonraker HT-500
Kydera DP550
​Baofeng 888s Yellow/Black
Baofeng 888s max red
WLN KD-C1
Uniden UBC-125XLT Scanner
Midland 42 DS
Broadcasting from Stockport SK1
callsign's (gmbuspunk)(26-TM-780)(26CT2318)
Ham Radio Call:M6WXF

Flanker_27
Regular
Regular
Posts: 6
Joined: 14 Feb 2019, 17:05

Re: Using intermediate license abroad?

Post by Flanker_27 » 30 Mar 2019, 18:56

And are all licences valable abroad? I'm working to get my CEPT standard license in Russia and, since I was planning to buy one of these houses in Greece for the holidays, I wanted to know whether Greece recognised CEPT licenses. I think they should as it's an EU country, but well, Malta is as well, and yet they didn't sign the CEPT agreements. So, if I'm on holidays, I'd like to use my radio sometimes... If I can!

Post Reply