Computer Power Supply Converted to 13.8V for Radio

Do you enjoy making your own equipment or antennas? Discuss construction and design in here.
User avatar
sureshot
Veteran
Veteran
Posts: 2680
Joined: 24 Jan 2012, 21:26
Call Sign: 26TM413
Location: South East Coast UK.

Re: Computer Power Supply Converted to 13.8V for Radio

Post by sureshot » 13 Jul 2012, 21:35

Excellent that's a really stable tolerance, good luck with what ever the intended final load will be. :D

Oh if a radio is part of the load put 1 meter between the psu and radio, no extra electrical filtering should be needed, but if there is noise and i doubt there will be, get a ferrite ring and make about half a dozen turns of the power cable around the ring, but i doubt your need it, dont forget in line fuse and rated cables for high current. ;)
CB call. Shipwreck.

User avatar
Clint
Radio Addict
Radio Addict
Posts: 816
Joined: 07 Sep 2010, 14:59
Call Sign: 26TM360
Location: Brands Hatch, Kent

Re: Computer Power Supply Converted to 13.8V for Radio

Post by Clint » 13 Jul 2012, 21:41

I have a lot of 24A server psu's all superb quality, but the fan is extremely noisy would need to make up a way of fitting a much bigger fan in size to quieten it down.
26-TM-360
Old 80's Radios and lots of them - Vintage Computers especially late 70's C=PETS :)

User avatar
sureshot
Veteran
Veteran
Posts: 2680
Joined: 24 Jan 2012, 21:26
Call Sign: 26TM413
Location: South East Coast UK.

Re: Computer Power Supply Converted to 13.8V for Radio

Post by sureshot » 13 Jul 2012, 21:53

Clint wrote:I have a lot of 24A server psu's all superb quality, but the fan is extremely noisy would need to make up a way of fitting a much bigger fan in size to quieten it down.
Clint wrote:I have a lot of 24A server psu's all superb quality, but the fan is extremely noisy would need to make up a way of fitting a much bigger fan in size to quieten it down.
You could always re case the unit in a new enclosure add 120mm axial fan etc add some panel meters variable voltage, current limit, do all sorts with the unit, test it first be a shame to get all the gear and it failed or proved inefficient. :)
CB call. Shipwreck.

User avatar
sureshot
Veteran
Veteran
Posts: 2680
Joined: 24 Jan 2012, 21:26
Call Sign: 26TM413
Location: South East Coast UK.

Re: Computer Power Supply Converted to 13.8V for Radio

Post by sureshot » 13 Jul 2012, 21:55

Quote came out twice oop's :D
CB call. Shipwreck.

hdjmings1
Super Member
Super Member
Posts: 318
Joined: 09 Aug 2011, 17:13
Call Sign: M3YCM
Location: Stevenage

Re: Computer Power Supply Converted to 13.8V for Radio

Post by hdjmings1 » 04 Sep 2012, 15:22

right im going to try this one again, this time i have a different psu, got it from someone for a tenna, here is some pics
IMG_2026.JPG
IMG_2027.JPG
i no im a beginner but i can find where the 5v line goes to the voltage reg if anyone could help it would be nice

in the psu board there are 2 ic chips the bigger one says CP4940603 and the other 1 says TPS3150P
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
26-TM-1982
M3YCM


President Lincoln
RM KL400
siro HI-POWER 4000

“Those most hopelessly enslaved are those who falsely believe they are free” Johann Wolfgang Von Goethe

User avatar
sureshot
Veteran
Veteran
Posts: 2680
Joined: 24 Jan 2012, 21:26
Call Sign: 26TM413
Location: South East Coast UK.

Re: Computer Power Supply Converted to 13.8V for Radio

Post by sureshot » 04 Sep 2012, 16:52

Not sure what you meant, think your trying to find the +5 volts source, is this for the idea of using it as the main secondary output at 13.80 volts if modded ? if different why are you trying to trace the +5 volts rail source, i don't claim to be an expert, and circuits will vary from different units and manufacturers. :)
CB call. Shipwreck.

hdjmings1
Super Member
Super Member
Posts: 318
Joined: 09 Aug 2011, 17:13
Call Sign: M3YCM
Location: Stevenage

Re: Computer Power Supply Converted to 13.8V for Radio

Post by hdjmings1 » 04 Sep 2012, 18:10

going to "attempt" lol to do what he has done in this topic, make the 12v 13.8v , he used 5v to turn the 12v into 13.8v because the volt regulation was controlled by the 5v
26-TM-1982
M3YCM


President Lincoln
RM KL400
siro HI-POWER 4000

“Those most hopelessly enslaved are those who falsely believe they are free” Johann Wolfgang Von Goethe

User avatar
sureshot
Veteran
Veteran
Posts: 2680
Joined: 24 Jan 2012, 21:26
Call Sign: 26TM413
Location: South East Coast UK.

Re: Computer Power Supply Converted to 13.8V for Radio

Post by sureshot » 04 Sep 2012, 18:21

Ok i thought you might want to try that, ive never done one from the +5 volts rail as the less than 1.8 volts is no bother really to me, but i can see wanting to give it a go, as in most but not all, max current can be had from this output, the only issue is slight variations from one unit to another.

Have you had a look back at the OP's build see if you can get any info there ? i would look on line for a couple of schematics for comparison of the secondary outputs from those drawings and see if any ICs match what you have and if the circuit components tally up with any schematic in searches. :)

PS. Also have a look in a search for others that have done this using the +5 volt rail, i know in some units its quit easy, its if your ATX is a good Donner.
CB call. Shipwreck.

User avatar
NITRO
Super Member
Super Member
Posts: 470
Joined: 23 Apr 2011, 13:15
Location: Newport S.Wales

Re: Computer Power Supply Converted to 13.8V for Radio

Post by NITRO » 06 Sep 2012, 19:48

well done on a great post ;) have to admit tho, i wouldent have the first clue where to start and would probably blow the psu , or the rig ( quite likely both ) to bits if i attempted anything like that :oops: .... good job bud 8)
163-TM-565

hdjmings1
Super Member
Super Member
Posts: 318
Joined: 09 Aug 2011, 17:13
Call Sign: M3YCM
Location: Stevenage

Re: Computer Power Supply Converted to 13.8V for Radio

Post by hdjmings1 » 16 May 2019, 21:03

Hi can anyone help, in the pic you will see a pc psu thats been modded, you will also see a 2k variable resistor when i turn this it alters The voltage, but the voltage max out at something like 12.6v, can this 2k resistor be changed to get more output say to 13.8v?
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
26-TM-1982
M3YCM


President Lincoln
RM KL400
siro HI-POWER 4000

“Those most hopelessly enslaved are those who falsely believe they are free” Johann Wolfgang Von Goethe

User avatar
Woodyardboy
Regular
Regular
Posts: 11
Joined: 15 May 2012, 18:07
Location: North Shields

Re: Computer Power Supply Converted to 13.8V for Radio

Post by Woodyardboy » 19 May 2019, 20:26

hdjmings1 wrote:
13 Jul 2012, 21:19
well pulling 14.7 amps the voltage at the terminals stay at 12.08v, when no load is on the supply the standered volts are 12.09/12.1v

but the real test will be tomorrow :lol:
that seemed to work out fine for you, I'm going to have a go at this myself in the coming weeks, I'll let you know how I get on. 8)
26-TM-585

alphard
Regular
Regular
Posts: 10
Joined: 03 Jul 2019, 07:33

Re: Computer Power Supply Converted to 13.8V for Radio

Post by alphard » 07 Jul 2019, 10:04

What would happen if used a 220 ohm power resistors instead of 10 ohm one for the load?

Post Reply