Sepura srh3500

Here you can discuss radio related computer software and computer control of radio equipment.
Post Reply
pstephens1
Regular
Regular
Posts: 44
Joined: 09 Mar 2010, 14:06

Sepura srh3500

Post by pstephens1 » 22 Nov 2010, 16:51

Hi we have just brought 4 radios for work and i was wondering if i there is a way i can reprogramme it so i can use it like a mobile phone. If anyone can help it would be great many thanks paul
As the great Homer Simpson once said. 'Trying is the first step to failure'.

carlos123
Regular
Regular
Posts: 6
Joined: 13 Nov 2010, 14:30

Re: Sepura srh3500

Post by carlos123 » 23 Nov 2010, 17:30

The only way you can use the telephone mode is when your connected/registered user on the o2 Airwave network.and for that your company needs to apply to OFCOM for a licence.and its not cheap.
However let me know if your thinking of selling them.

pstephens1
Regular
Regular
Posts: 44
Joined: 09 Mar 2010, 14:06

Re: Sepura srh3500

Post by pstephens1 » 23 Nov 2010, 19:27

Im just wondering if it was possible as they have a sim card slot at the back and i was wondering if it was possible to unlock them as you would with a normal mobile phone. im sorry to say that they are not for sale as we use them to stop the little scally wags from listening to us on scanners, we got fed up of catching them and finding they have scanners on them and we could do nothing to them about it. If anyone knows of a way we can do this with our own sim cards any help would be great many thanks in paul
As the great Homer Simpson once said. 'Trying is the first step to failure'.

User avatar
fez
Veteran
Veteran
Posts: 3408
Joined: 26 Jan 2007, 19:51
Location: On the computer

Re: Sepura srh3500

Post by fez » 23 Nov 2010, 20:10

pstephens1 wrote: If anyone knows of a way we can do this with our own sim cards any help would be great many thanks in paul
It's not possible. Mobile phones and tetra handsets are totally different.

User avatar
Scott_93
Super Member
Super Member
Posts: 448
Joined: 04 Oct 2009, 20:39
Call Sign: Sunray20Alph
Location: GBR/Overseas

Re: Sepura srh3500

Post by Scott_93 » 27 Nov 2010, 10:53

What type of work do you do exactly ?

You see using a TETRA set COULD land you in trouble if you don't have the appropriate license from OfCom (Last time I heard they weren't even BOTHERING with individuals regarding licensing TETRA). Also on 1 Watt range, you're not going to get too far on them. It may be that DMR (Digital and no off the shelf scanner can listen in) is better suited as it has a greater range (5 Watt) and most of the gear can do analogue and digital, also it's a heck of a lot easier to license too.

I'm interested to ask why are they bothering carrying scanners and listening in too ?

As for the SIM card slot, SIM cards aren't limited to GSM, it's just one of it's uses. It's actually there to provide flexible but personalised setting. For example the German BoS use the SIM cards to carry their crypto keys for their network and I presume ISSI numbers so radio's can be pooled but still operated as personal issue with their own ID number. They are capable of making PHONE calls, but that's done over the network with the help of a PSTN interface which has absolutely nothing to do with a GSM or mobile phone at any point.

As for the Airwave network, well no-one is allowed access unless you've been security cleared for it (as sensitive comms are passed over it as well as the fact that the radio's are considered sensitive as they carry Crypto keys). It's reserved for first responder/safety of life comms only and even when you do have a good reason for even just one radio to interop with a first responder you have to go through a lengthy procedure with parliament and OfCom.

Now if someone wanted to re-open a Dolphin style network :D

Scott.

User avatar
iansradios
Radio Addict
Radio Addict
Posts: 858
Joined: 19 Apr 2005, 19:13

Re: Sepura srh3500

Post by iansradios » 28 Nov 2010, 22:16

pstephens1 wrote:Im just wondering if it was possible as they have a sim card slot at the back and i was wondering if it was possible to unlock them as you would with a normal mobile phone. im sorry to say that they are not for sale as we use them to stop the little scally wags from listening to us on scanners, we got fed up of catching them and finding they have scanners on them and we could do nothing to them about it. If anyone knows of a way we can do this with our own sim cards any help would be great many thanks in paul
No,,end of

mikeeve1
Registered New User
Registered New User
Posts: 2
Joined: 21 Jan 2017, 06:12

Re: Sepura srh3500

Post by mikeeve1 » 22 Jan 2017, 01:52

Hi All,
Sorry to bring up an old post, However i am desperate to borrow a SRH 3500 programming cable, Has anyone got one i could sit on your drive and use for 5 mins please?
Many thanks

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests