Bandit Echo Board.

This is the place to discuss any general CB radio related topics. Getting started, installations, operation etc.
Post Reply
User avatar
astradyne
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 7444
Joined: 14 Jun 2010, 09:28
Location: Dunny On The Wolds
Contact:

Bandit Echo Board.

Post by astradyne » 08 Jun 2011, 21:41

Just bought this on eBay. Quite a bargain at the price I think. http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/Bandit-Echo-Board ... 0731104604

Anyway, as the listing says it comes without instructions I was wondering if anyone had access to a set that they could upload. It looks straight forward enough as the unit is clearly labelled. But I would like to be certain when wiring it into my Scooper project.

Thanks in advance. :D
Never, ever, ever....bloody anything ever!

Far too many radio's to list here. But I do own a legal one...

User avatar
astradyne
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 7444
Joined: 14 Jun 2010, 09:28
Location: Dunny On The Wolds
Contact:

Re: Bandit Echo Board.

Post by astradyne » 10 Jun 2011, 20:55

Anyone?
Never, ever, ever....bloody anything ever!

Far too many radio's to list here. But I do own a legal one...

User avatar
astradyne
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 7444
Joined: 14 Jun 2010, 09:28
Location: Dunny On The Wolds
Contact:

Re: Bandit Echo Board.

Post by astradyne » 22 Jun 2011, 22:31

Well I have some images of the unit. The main PCB wiring looks straight forward and is clearly labelled. It's the two wires on the potentiometer that get me. Are they for talkback perhaps? They are seemingly controlled by the inner rotary. Any ideas?
[img]http://i820.photobucket.com/albums ... .jpg[/img]
[img]http://i820.photobucket.com/albums ... .jpg[/img]
Never, ever, ever....bloody anything ever!

Far too many radio's to list here. But I do own a legal one...

User avatar
wind in the antenna
Top Poster
Top Poster
Posts: 1845
Joined: 29 Mar 2010, 17:41
Location: Brighton

Re: Bandit Echo Board.

Post by wind in the antenna » 23 Jun 2011, 00:44

There's not a switch action on that pot cluster is there ? The white wires are clearly in the signal path as they're shielded. Perhaps the red and yellow ones go in series with the power feed to turn the thing on and off. What does your meter show across these wires ?

I'm a radio armature who made the switch to ariel none-bio
New Face in Hell

----------------
Tony in Brighton
26TM9480
26FB298
G7TXU
----------------

User avatar
bigpimp347
Legend
Legend
Posts: 8416
Joined: 08 Aug 2009, 10:23
Location: J26 Nottingham
Contact:

Re: Bandit Echo Board.

Post by bigpimp347 » 23 Jun 2011, 07:26

they are a power switch to turn on and off the echo...
i'll dig mine out and see what they say..
http://livecbradio.co.uk UK's only 24/7 live stream

User avatar
astradyne
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 7444
Joined: 14 Jun 2010, 09:28
Location: Dunny On The Wolds
Contact:

Re: Bandit Echo Board.

Post by astradyne » 23 Jun 2011, 12:19

bigpimp347 wrote:they are a power switch to turn on and off the echo...
i'll dig mine out and see what they say..
Cheers BP. I was unsure about those two wires as there is a power input on the main PCB which I would wire to the on/off switch of the radio. It came with no fitting instructions, but was only £2.50 so not all bad. :D
Never, ever, ever....bloody anything ever!

Far too many radio's to list here. But I do own a legal one...

User avatar
astradyne
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 7444
Joined: 14 Jun 2010, 09:28
Location: Dunny On The Wolds
Contact:

Re: Bandit Echo Board.

Post by astradyne » 23 Jun 2011, 12:21

wind in the antenna wrote:There's not a switch action on that pot cluster is there ?
There certainly is. :D
Never, ever, ever....bloody anything ever!

Far too many radio's to list here. But I do own a legal one...

User avatar
bigpimp347
Legend
Legend
Posts: 8416
Joined: 08 Aug 2009, 10:23
Location: J26 Nottingham
Contact:

Re: Bandit Echo Board.

Post by bigpimp347 » 20 Aug 2011, 11:13

right i'm back..

is yours a BB-1 or BB-2 ??

either way..
i have just found a BB-1

Wiring for BB-2 Bandit Echo Board

RED = 12-volts Constant (yours is the orange wire)
BLACK = Board Ground (yours is the white wire)
ORANGE = 12-volts Switched (should be next to your white wire to the left)
BOTH SHIELDS = Mic Ground your white/blue and white/green
BLUE IN = Audio from Mic
GREEN OUT = Audio out to radio board

the ones on the actual control, not a clue.. :)

i did a search for mine as i'm just sticking it into a superstar 3900 and needed to get the wires right too.
http://livecbradio.co.uk UK's only 24/7 live stream

User avatar
astradyne
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 7444
Joined: 14 Jun 2010, 09:28
Location: Dunny On The Wolds
Contact:

Re: Bandit Echo Board.

Post by astradyne » 20 Aug 2011, 15:11

Thanks BP. Mine is the BB-1. I guess the two wires on the dual rotary will be the switched 12V in place of a wire going directly to the BB-1 PCB. Now I have clarity I will fit it into something when time permits.

Many thanks! :D
Never, ever, ever....bloody anything ever!

Far too many radio's to list here. But I do own a legal one...

User avatar
bigpimp347
Legend
Legend
Posts: 8416
Joined: 08 Aug 2009, 10:23
Location: J26 Nottingham
Contact:

Re: Bandit Echo Board.

Post by bigpimp347 » 20 Aug 2011, 16:18

right mine is fitted..

where you have the orange and white for power, i have a third wire in the empty hold, so looking at yours, left to right i have orange, black and red..
orange is 12v, black is earth, and red is switched 12v. (the way mines done :) )

i had only one wire on the control and i removed this all together as it's no use..

i put black to the screened can on the board, red to the red on the power switch, and orange to the orange par ton the power switch..

then it's a case of the two wires for the audio and screen from the audio wires to the earth on the mic socket (superstar 3900)

works perfect, if there is a resistor on the solder side of the board is is to slow the echo down, if you remove it it speeds up, so could be a second control there for more variable speed ??

they work ok, not as good as the RFX turbo echo or magnum delta force, but as an audio enhancement they work good, give a good echo and a volume on the board too..

just don't sold the black to the power socket if you have choke in-line as i did and got a hum, hence on a metal screened can..
http://livecbradio.co.uk UK's only 24/7 live stream

User avatar
astradyne
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 7444
Joined: 14 Jun 2010, 09:28
Location: Dunny On The Wolds
Contact:

Re: Bandit Echo Board.

Post by astradyne » 20 Aug 2011, 17:49

This one has a variable resistor on the component side of the PCB but there are no resistors on the solder side. I'll try adding a wire to the PCB where the spare hole is, although nothing appears to have been there previously.

Thanks again BP!
Never, ever, ever....bloody anything ever!

Far too many radio's to list here. But I do own a legal one...

drew434
Registered New User
Registered New User
Posts: 1
Joined: 18 Aug 2017, 00:06
Call Sign: Bandit

Re: Bandit Echo Board.

Post by drew434 » 19 Aug 2017, 17:49

I have bandit echo borad and my has a yellow wire on the power side next to the black wire thank you

User avatar
dt307
Top Poster
Top Poster
Posts: 1021
Joined: 05 Sep 2014, 16:15
Call Sign: 163dt307

Re: Bandit Echo Board.

Post by dt307 » 22 Aug 2017, 01:06

Image
163dt307-chris




“I fear the day that technology will surpass our human interaction. The world will have a generation of idiots.”
― Albert Einstein

User avatar
astradyne
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 7444
Joined: 14 Jun 2010, 09:28
Location: Dunny On The Wolds
Contact:

Re: Bandit Echo Board.

Post by astradyne » 22 Aug 2017, 10:31

Ruddy hell. I started this thread over six years ago.
Never, ever, ever....bloody anything ever!

Far too many radio's to list here. But I do own a legal one...

User avatar
MrWeetabix
Admin
Admin
Posts: 14231
Joined: 26 Aug 2008, 13:34
Call Sign: 26TM175
Location: Tynemouth

Re: Bandit Echo Board.

Post by MrWeetabix » 22 Aug 2017, 13:10

Zombie thread will never die.....

mmmmmmmmmmmmmm brains
26TM175. OP: Craig. QTH: Tynemouth. Also 163TM175 when mobile in Wales 8)

PO Box: 62 Town: Albrighton City: Wolverhampton Zip: WV7 3WR

TM1 is now on Facebook http://tinyurl.com/TM1onFB || New Tango Mike QSL cards https://tinyurl.com/TM1-NewQSL

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests